Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Case Mod Idea..


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Gr4vitas

Gr4vitas

    Eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Concord, NH

Posted 12 November 2006 - 07:31 PM

Well the title isn't completely acurate.. lol more of an idea for my specific case. Basicly i'm buying a new video card that will be needing more power than what my current PSU can dish out. BUT the thing is i don't really have the money to blow a bunch of $$ on a beastly PSU that can handle the new rig.. so i thought.. ill just add to my current PSU.. the idea is to take my current PSU out of my case. Mount it on the exterior somewhere and then feed the cables through the case to power like half the rig. Then buy another PSU (rather than a beastly one i can just buy a cheaper like 400 watt one) and then hook this one up where you're normaly PSU would reside. Then have this PSU power the other half of the rig.
I've already figured out how to wire it so when you boot one PSU it also boots the other. Just gotta do some wiring, and bam double the watt's half the money. The only problem is it might be tough to get both the main 24 pin cables close enough together at one point in the case to wire them accordingly. And still keep the wire management under control. Ideas? Thoughts?

i5 2500k @ 5.5ghz 1.5v 45°c || 6970 @ 1000/1500 || Corsair Vengence 8gb 1600 @ 1740
Haf x - Asus Sabertooth P67 - Swiftech Apogee HD - swiftech MCP655 - XSPC RS360
Video of the build


#2 gotdamojo06

gotdamojo06

    burrr...cpu is cold

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 12 November 2006 - 07:57 PM

I think that it sounds like a good idea, I was going to do something like that before, but have one psu power the fans, cathodes and dvd drives

Posted Image OCC|GOTDAMOJO06 - Reviewer
Posted Image
5226MHz


#3 Gr4vitas

Gr4vitas

    Eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Concord, NH

Posted 12 November 2006 - 07:59 PM

Yea, i have 2 cathodes 11 fans and 2 external lights on this beast. It's already sucking a lot of juice. So i figured i could split the load on 2 PSU's that way i dont have to spent 400 bucks on a 1k watt psu.

i5 2500k @ 5.5ghz 1.5v 45°c || 6970 @ 1000/1500 || Corsair Vengence 8gb 1600 @ 1740
Haf x - Asus Sabertooth P67 - Swiftech Apogee HD - swiftech MCP655 - XSPC RS360
Video of the build


#4 epikz

epikz

    geek :D

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:modesto ,ca

Posted 12 November 2006 - 08:11 PM

you're getting a 7950 right? the minimum requirement is 400w how big is the psu you have right now?
dead sig! :(

#5 gotdamojo06

gotdamojo06

    burrr...cpu is cold

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 12 November 2006 - 08:14 PM

good idea, go for it...if you would want to you could even take some bondo and attach the second psu onto the top of the case and cover most of it up in the bondo and paint it, so its more or less like a lump on the top of you case

Posted Image OCC|GOTDAMOJO06 - Reviewer
Posted Image
5226MHz


#6 Gr4vitas

Gr4vitas

    Eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Concord, NH

Posted 13 November 2006 - 03:50 PM

The PSU i have now is a 500w, dunno if that can handle it all. I've got 2 cathodes and 7 case fans running in this hog. Think it can pump out enough juice for it all? (keep in mind i'm running 2 harddrives and an opty 148 DFI Lanpary NF4 mobo)

i5 2500k @ 5.5ghz 1.5v 45°c || 6970 @ 1000/1500 || Corsair Vengence 8gb 1600 @ 1740
Haf x - Asus Sabertooth P67 - Swiftech Apogee HD - swiftech MCP655 - XSPC RS360
Video of the build


#7 hardnrg

hardnrg

    Overclocking the i7... finally

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16487 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 13 November 2006 - 04:14 PM

unless your psu cost $5, it will be enough to power your rig including new graphics card

my rig uses something like 400W at load...

edit: unless you're talkin about the 8800GTX maybe...

Edited by hardnrg, 13 November 2006 - 04:16 PM.

( How To Ask A Question ) · ( [email protected] Sigpics ) · ( Rules ) · ( USB Bootdrive ) · ( Modding & Computer Stores ) · ( OCC facebook.png )
i7 920 D0 @ 21x196=4116, HT on · D-Tek Fuzion v1 · 3x2GB Corsair XMS3 PC3-10666 @ DDR1176, 8-8-8-22-1T
BFG/XFX GTX260 Maxcore SLI @ 756/1512/1188 (Swiftech MCW60-R + Swiftech GTX200) · Asus P6T Deluxe V2
X-Fi XtremeMusic (Hotrodded) · PCP&C Silencer 750

Athlon II X4 635 @ 2900 · 2x 2GB PC2-6400 · HD5550 1GB · Asus M4A77D · Antec Neopower 480

EeePC 1000H @ 12x164=1965 · 1x 2GB Corsair VS PC2-5300 · Gigabyte Aircruiser N300 GN-WI06N

 


#8 Gr4vitas

Gr4vitas

    Eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Concord, NH

Posted 13 November 2006 - 04:22 PM

Yea, its the 7950gt eVGA. Ordering it as i type lol. So this 500w should be able to crank hard enough for this rig you think?

i5 2500k @ 5.5ghz 1.5v 45°c || 6970 @ 1000/1500 || Corsair Vengence 8gb 1600 @ 1740
Haf x - Asus Sabertooth P67 - Swiftech Apogee HD - swiftech MCP655 - XSPC RS360
Video of the build


#9 hardnrg

hardnrg

    Overclocking the i7... finally

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16487 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 13 November 2006 - 04:38 PM

did i miss something or did you not even mention what psu it is?

there's a world of different between a $5 500W psu from cheap-r-us and something like my pc power & cooling 510, and many many very capable psus in between

Edited by hardnrg, 13 November 2006 - 04:38 PM.

( How To Ask A Question ) · ( [email protected] Sigpics ) · ( Rules ) · ( USB Bootdrive ) · ( Modding & Computer Stores ) · ( OCC facebook.png )
i7 920 D0 @ 21x196=4116, HT on · D-Tek Fuzion v1 · 3x2GB Corsair XMS3 PC3-10666 @ DDR1176, 8-8-8-22-1T
BFG/XFX GTX260 Maxcore SLI @ 756/1512/1188 (Swiftech MCW60-R + Swiftech GTX200) · Asus P6T Deluxe V2
X-Fi XtremeMusic (Hotrodded) · PCP&C Silencer 750

Athlon II X4 635 @ 2900 · 2x 2GB PC2-6400 · HD5550 1GB · Asus M4A77D · Antec Neopower 480

EeePC 1000H @ 12x164=1965 · 1x 2GB Corsair VS PC2-5300 · Gigabyte Aircruiser N300 GN-WI06N

 


#10 Gr4vitas

Gr4vitas

    Eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Concord, NH

Posted 13 November 2006 - 04:52 PM

Well its one that came with my case, http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817148001
is the one i'm pretty shure.

i5 2500k @ 5.5ghz 1.5v 45°c || 6970 @ 1000/1500 || Corsair Vengence 8gb 1600 @ 1740
Haf x - Asus Sabertooth P67 - Swiftech Apogee HD - swiftech MCP655 - XSPC RS360
Video of the build


#11 ClayMeow

ClayMeow

    Member Title Exceeds Member Title Character Limit

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 13 November 2006 - 04:56 PM

I have a 500W Aspire that powers the following:

MSI K8N Neo2 Plat
A64 3500+
2x1GB OCZ Plat PC3200
6800GT OC
2xWD 36.7 10k Raptors (Raid-0)
3 other ATA hard drives
16X DVD/52x24x52 CDRW Drive
2 12" UV CCFLS
2 120mm LED Fans
6 low-volted 80mm Fans on my Radiator

Video cards don't draw as much power as the manufacturers make you think. When they say a 500W psu is recommended, they recommend that because they know you're going to have a lot of other things in your system drawing power.

If you're still concerned, here's a product that's similar to what you're intending to do, but with a cleaner installation...maybe you can figure out something similar.

CMt.png
- Steam - Raptr - Xfire - GameSpot - Kongregate - IGN Blog -
- ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe - i7 3770k - NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti - 16GB DDR3-1866MHz - Acer Predator X34 -
::: Follow OCC on facebook.png ::: OCC Xfire Clan ::: OCC Steam Community Group ::: OCC Rules :::

::: OCC E3 2013 Awards ::: CES 2013 ::: COMPUTEX 2010 :::

::: NVIDIA SHIELD Android TV Review ::: Acer Predator X34 Review :::


#12 epikz

epikz

    geek :D

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:modesto ,ca

Posted 13 November 2006 - 05:15 PM

im sure it will hold through the 8800gtx uses 350w alone so you shouldnt be worried if youre getting the 7950
dead sig! :(