Sign in to follow this  
cyberpc04

External Scratch Disk For Photoshop On A Mac

I work as a graphic designer at a newspaper and i've been working on getting my work to include some money in next years budget for more memory which is probably going to happen soon. Even after that does happen though I highly doubt it will be enough for my liking. I started laughing the day I started when I found out the system I would be working on only had 1.5Gb and it's on a mac so it's probably going to be more ram hungry than a typical pc. Anyway, until we get more memory (and even after) i'd like to be able to use an external stratch disk for photoshop & illustrator.

I have an external drive that is hooked up but for some reason photoshop won't recogize it as a usable scratch disk but illustrator will. Anyone know of some external drives that would work well for what i'm looking for? (btw, it's a maxtor 200Gb 7200RPM USB2 external drive so if there is a way to get it to work in photoshop please let me know).

Ideas, solutions, suggestions? Thanks!

**EDIT** Ok, figured it out. I don't know how to delete this thread though. For anyone else that stumbles upon this with the same problem, the drive must be formatted in HFS in order for photoshop on a mac to write to it.

Edited by cyberpc04

Well even though you got it to work is it really the best thing to do? I would think that the latency and real world transfer rate of the USB interface would yield poorer results then using your boot drive for a scratch disk.

not if you use firewire 800 if its avalibal on your mac.. and no.. photoshop is more optimised for a mac.. .and will run better

not if you use firewire 800 if its avalibal on your mac.. and no.. photoshop is more optimised for a mac.. .and will run better

(btw, it's a maxtor 200Gb 7200RPM USB2 external drive so if there is a way to get it to work in photoshop please let me know).

as i was saying....

photoshop is more optimised for a mac.. .and will run better