One For You Computer Pros!

Hi Guys,

im new to this part of town and i was wondering if you could help me with a problem with my rig.

Basically i think there is no straight foward solution but any help and/or advice would be welcomed...

This is my system...

Athlon64 3200+

Biostar NF4ST-A9

1Gig Elixer DDR 400 Ram

Sparkle Geforce 6600 256 (agp)

Samsung 180gig IDE

Windows Media Center Edition 2002 - clean install

The Problem is i cant play any videos/mpeg files or dvds...kinda sux having MCE n all. Also i dont think its performing to the best of its abillity!

I can do some limited online gaming (cs @ 70fps ) just no videos!!!

what happens is the system locks up when i try to play any type of video file format, what used to happen when i had Xp Pro loaded was that i would get the blue screen of death - device driver got stuck in infinate loop :O

The guys @ tech-support forums helped me narrow it down to my display drivers/graphics card.

My card is showing up in Location - Pci slot 1 :unsure:

The Mobo i have is Nforce-4 and is equiped with an XGP slot not agp (selected cards only blah, blah)....anyways i found out that my card isnt supported!! even tho the computer vendor that sold me the board said it was!!!!

i can play mpeg files if i restart in safe mode - hence no display drivers loading up but i was wondering if there is anything i can do to sort it out without forking out for another card!!! :angry:

Ive Tried.......

installation of latest drivers

flashed mobo to latest drivers

tried underclocking the card

You think i should try flashing the card with another 6600 bios? leadtech/asus?

Buy another card?

Throw pc out of window? :unsure:

The stress this thing is causing me is making me go crazy!! :bah:

http://www.biostar.com.tw/products/mainboa...p?name=NF4ST-A9

Thats the mobo of doom btw ^^

Thanks K

ps sorry for bad english - speak welsh here :D

Guest Flashstar