Sign in to follow this  
BarneyGumble

Aerobic Gaming...

I'm new to OCC and I want to contribute my own research. I am going to do a self study of the effects of cardiovascular activity on gaming. I play games regularly (when not at work and the wife isn't home (she hates my computer)), but yesterday I actually found that the game I was playing seemed boring. As usual, as soon as I got home from work I started playing a FPS, my favorite. About 45 min into it I felt like I was wasting my time, which is odd because I usually enjoy playing my collection of games.

Back to the study...there have been several university studies that tie cardiovascular activity to higher cognitive thought and as a related form, a lower brain function latency. Looking at the study results I notice that cardiovascular excercise is to the human brain what overclocking is to the processor. After 0.5 hours of cardiovascular excercise brain function increases, cognitive thinking increases, latency decreases and P3 amplitude, the actual usable electricity in the brain, increases. So, I am going to do a 30 min cardiovascular workout three times a week for three weeks. Everyday I will record the excercise amount and time, what games I play and how long, and will rate my game experience on a 1-5 scale. 1=what a waste of time; 5=Why can't this be real.

I hypothesize that I will enjoy games more as my cardiovascular fitness increases. However, I also feel that this may spawn an inverse relationship. I may gain cardiovascular fitness and lose interest in games... I just don't know.

What usually happens to me is that the more I work out the less interested I am in video games. I dunno, its what happens to me :(

What usually happens to me is that the more I work out the less interested I am in video games.  I dunno, its what happens to me :(

548077[/snapback]

ahhh. must stop excercising.

but cardio is just so much WORK....