Cpu Won't Run Up To Speed

cactusgal

I just joined here at the suggestion of a tech friend. I'm fairly new to all this, only having my own PC for about 2 years, plus being old to boot, lol :P But I did build my current system last December :thumbs-up: and it all works fine ;)

I'm dealing, currently, with my daughter's PC, an Asus A7N8X motherboard and an AthlonXP 3000+ CPU that I cant seem to get running over 1300 mhz. I've checked the jumper on the board and, at least according to the manual, it's set right. Also, I've gone into the BIOS and adjusted the FSB setting and Multiplier, although I'm not sure I've done that exactly right, being a relative newbie and all. It still shows up on the post screen at 1300 mhz.

My AthlonXP 2800+ was running much too slowly at first but is now running up to speed (2.08 ghz.) on my Gigabyte motherboard (GA-7N400-L) after I reset the jumper. It doesn't have a multiplier, so it was as simple as resetting that jumper.

What can I do to get this other system running at the proper speed? Any help would be appreciated.

cactusgal

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

uh, either im confused or u are cause when u buy a processor especially AMD the 3000 + doesn't mean it runs at 3.00 ghz, a 2800 doesn't mean it runs at 2.8 or 2.08 ghz, I have a 3200 and its runs 2.0 ghz at stock as it should, what your doing is overclocking them.

Edit: your not serious are you?

Edited by Ste

AMD XPs and 64s run different than intels thats why they have a lower clock speed. Either make sure your overclock is stable or revert back to stock.

That and the 2800+ does stock at 2.08ghz...what are you changing in the BIOS and what are you setting it to?

525182[/snapback]