Amd, But Which One.

Mail came today. Little did I know there was going to be a $1600 check in it for me. Thanks Granny. :D I have read a ton about AMD being the ultimate gaming proc, and now I want one. I have been debating whether or not to keep my 2.8c for about a month and now I don't have to. I am totally new to AMD, and still researching. I hear only good things about Sandys and some problems with Venice chips. I know that the FX chips are the best for gaming but way to expensive for me. I see everyone talking about the 64 not being used to its full potential yet. So yeah I am clueless on which to get. I am looking to spend around $300 or less on the Proc. I only game on this machine and recently purchased an ATI X850 XT PE AGP over the weekend, (before the check came which I had no idea about). So do I keep the agp card or get Pci-e on the new mobo? I have a 400watt psu, might want to get a 500 or more. I am sure that I will need an XP-90 heatsink, which I have now on my P4. I am still learning the OC thing so I would like this system to be moderatly overclockable in case I finally figure it out. Any and all suggestions are welcome. Thanks.

Edited by Kevlar218

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not too sure and it's getting late, but I think the 3700+ is upper $300's and the 3200+ is upper $100's, if you can shell out the extra dough, get the 3700+...either way, make sure it is either a San Diego or Venice cored CPU.

1600$ and only 300$ to the proc? personaly i would invest a little more in a proc cause of you vidy card.

no i would not get a pci-e mobo cause that video card is still great

might i recomend a dfi nf3 ultra-d s939 mobo i got mine for 122$ on newegg and couldent be happyer!

as for psu OCZ 520w

ya you would eather want to keep your current xp-90 or get a xp-90c but other than that invest in some nice fans too

gl man!