1st System

I should start by saying I am a newbie when it comes to overclocking and building. I am not totally new to computers and with that in mind I would like to ask for any input on system building. If you had about $4500 and could build your dream machine, how would you proceed? I have that budget and here is how I am looking to go:

Intel 3.73 or 840EE (need help here)

Asus P5WD2

Maxtor Diamond Max 10 300G x 2 (Raid 1)

OCZ Platinum (4gigs)

Plextor PX-716SA

Ultra 500w X-Connect power supply

Logitech diNovo (blue tooth)

Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS Platinum

klipsch promedia ultra 5.1 speakers

Asus EAX850 Pro graphics card

Really need help in case choice, water cooling (best brand) and whether psu is right choice. I need honesty and critisizm alike. My needs are media, upgradeability and looks are a concern but not required.

Specifically, what type of 'media' are you talking about? Are you talking about cad, video editing, photoshop, etc?

If you've got a bunch of cash to burn, I'd recommend going with a dual-opteron setup; if you're partial to Intel, then maybe the Xeon line. Your multi-media performance will thank you for it - it's overkill for gaming though.

I would say that getting the X-Connect PS is probably not the best idea. The concept the have is awesome, but I've just seen way too many problems with it to be worth it.

If you've got the $$$ and want some crazy water-cooling setup, check out VapoChill.

http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/reviews...Chill_LS_1.html

http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20001103/vapochill-02.html

for the PSU go w/ a PC Power & Cooling 510W Turbo-Cool Express. great power supply and stable as a mofo. If the media ur talking about is like video editing or cad or something, the amount of ram makes sense, but if its just watching DVD's, ur wasting ur money. you would only need like 1 gig. i think we need a better idea of how this is going to be used. :)

bad intel bad!

488043[/snapback]

Yeah, what he said!