A 3rd Build

Ste

My brother will be going away for college soon and he wants me to build him a pc, This will be my third build, I have no experience with intel though, Im going to go intel Cause He likes things very fast, will be doing alot of CAD and multitasking. Anyways, He said hes getting a deal from a buddy buying a LCD for like 50$ off him so right away we have more space to breath as in parts. Im guessing his budget will be about 1000-1200.

I thinking for a quick idea.

DDR2 (1 GB)

SLI setup

2 160 in Sata Raid.

is that overkill and will it probably go over his budget?

Also There are alot of differen't sockets for intel I see, which is the best or best for cost here.

This will be my first Intel Build so I appreciate any suggestions or comments.

That build sounds like it might be over budget. Good DDR2 is quite a bit more expensive than normal DDR afaik. You might make the budget if you go cheap on case/psu/mobo but then it wouldn't be that great of a machine anyway.

That build sounds like it might be over budget.  Good DDR2 is quite a bit more expensive than normal DDR afaik.  You might make the budget if you go cheap on case/psu/mobo but then it wouldn't be that great of a machine anyway.

473334[/snapback]

Yea, intel rigs need a substantially larger budget to get similar performance as an amd rig. A nice new dual core intel would be an lightning encoding, number crunching, multi-tasking beast tho!

When do those come out or are they already?

Ok Maybe not SLI and DDR2 but defintitly SATA Raid 160GB harddrives. Prolly raid 0

Explain Ive never heard of that term. I still have to ask him though about if he wants a keyboard mouse, printer and internet related devices and services included in the budget. Though since he will be at college he will probably be on a network and doesn't need a printer maybe. could transfer text files on a floppy of USB flash.

raid 0 is fine if you dont buy . drives

MAXTOR=BAD

WD=GOD

473530[/snapback]