Sponsorship

TheSternMystic

I was sitting here, thinking, then I realised, 'Hey, the guys at OCC are pretty smart, I'll get them to think for me'

So, I'm an Amateur athlete, and I've been talking to AMD about getting them to sponsor me. I've got a phone number and everything, now I've gotta actually phone. I don't wanna phone and say 'Uh, I want a sponsorship, gimme.' Cause I doubt they'd want to give me anything with that line.

Basically, I'd appreciate it if you could tell me some stuff I could say, that would be better than my above line, and be more convincing that I actually deserve this sponsorship.

Thanks Guys.

I have been sponsored in Alpine Ski racing and Motorcycle roadracing....

you need to get noticed...

have you been crushing the sponsored people in your sport?

Winning competitons....

then if you are sponsored, you must remember that you are representing the company ALL THE TIME.....

I ended up quiting ski racing because it was too much of a job....because of sponsors... Yes.. all my gear was free...etc. etc.

BUT... I would have to do appearances, photos, etc. etc... it sounds fun, but gets OLD very quickly

I am very involved in R/C planes and there was a post a little while ago regarding sponsorship in R/ C stuff...

this is a reply made that sums it up very well... These are NOT my words but I agree with them completely and obviosly they will not all apply, but .....it makes sense:

You have to look at this whole thing from the potential company's point of view. The #1 thing they are concerned about is what you will hear a lot of... ROI- Return On Investment. A company has to see you out there without a doubt, but there has to be something extra special with what you have to offer. Be it charisma, media exposure, dang good flying and winning of events... something has to set you aside from the rest of the bunch.