I Reached 186*f!

Slyder42

Hi! I am new to OCC. I have some issues with my home built special.

I am running an

-Athlon XP 2200+

-512 MB DDR PCXXX (don't know yet)

-XFX GeForce FX5200 w/ 128Mb DDR

-Thermaltake HSF (can't remember... came with mobo. It is colored mostly black.)

-Netgear MA311 802.11b WIFI PCI

-ATI TV WonderPro

-56k Fax/Modem (LOL! backup!)

-"20GB" Maxtor 91531U3 (8.30GB WinXP SP2/7.55GB Mandrake Linux 10 Non Functional)

-20 GB Western Digital WD200BB-32CXA0 (Games)

-External 120GB Maxtor 6Y120P0 in an I/O Magic External Enclosure (USB 2.0)

-Sony 52x24x52 CD-RW

-Toshiba Toshiba SD-R5272 [8X DVD-R speed, 4X DVD-RW speed, 8X DVD+R speed, 4X DVD+RW speed, 40X CD read speed, 32X CD-R speed, 10X CD-RW speed; ATAPI]

Powered by a [forgot the name] 500W PS

COOLING:

-2 Thermaltake Smart Case Fan II

-Generic VGA "orb" chipset cooler (blue)

-Kingwin TC-02S Thermal Center (Silver)

All enclosed in a beige Antec Solution SLK1600

Aside making this piece of junk work, I have done NO mods to it yet.

I am planning on adding a blue case window with 120mm blowhole on the side from www.frozencpu.com and a 120mm Thermaltake 4 LED cooling fan with a standard chromed fan guard.

Being the first time using a Dremel tool, I will have a friend lead the way (he has done woodwork and can hold a tool steady! Unlike me a freakin' KLUTZ :P

I also plan on finding my original Thermaltake 80mm fan guards and cutting the stock ventilation holes and creating more airflow.

Why is it running too hot?!? I will be cleaning the dust out tomorrow after classes and possibly gathering some cabling and pulling it "aside"

right now... MBM is telling me my Case is at 93*F and my CPU is running QUITE HOT AT 159*F. This computer is at idle or at about 2%.

When playing GTA3 last week, my computer engaged in thermal shutdown when it reached an amazing 187.5*F (about 87*C). I completed shutdown, opened my case and let it rest for 3 hours to make sure everything was okay.