Heatsink Lapping Guide

Bosco

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

im a machinist by trade and anotherway to get a mirror finish on a a lapped part that is heat malable is to simply apply a heat gun to surface.

take part and hold heat gun about 1-2 inches away and wave in the same direction back and forth .this will tend to lower the crests and raise the valleys of any heat affectable part,ie copper,al,silver etc.

another helpfull lesson about lapping is that its best done in one direction ,not a back and forth motion.then as stated in guide do 90 degree rotation and repeat.

using the above u can achieve a 4-10pu finish fairly quickly

pu is a surface standard for finishs and is millionths of an inch

anyway goodluck

Do you still use thermal compound after lapping?

Yes, I did. Even a lapped HSF will still have defects and groves that will cause air to be between the CPU and HSF... and the CPU itself has grooves in it. A lapped HSF will make better contact, but it won't be perfict.

Loved the guide!

I have read that also lapping the CPU can help even more, is this really something one would want to do? I mean it is one thing to risk screwing up a $40 heatsink but I am not sure I would want to wet down and sand a $500 P4! :unsure:

Loved the guide!

I have read that also lapping the CPU can help even more, is this really something one would want to do? I mean it is one thing to risk screwing up a $40 heatsink but I am not sure I would want to wet down and sand a $500 P4! :unsure:

You know, that same question came to mind. I've seen people lap the CPU, but I've never attempted it myself. I may give it a shot here in a week or two and update the guide.

• 3 weeks later...

While I've never Cup O' Noodles'd my CPU with nitrogen or dunked a complete PC into an inert liquid, I've had my fair share of amazing overclocks via a variety of methods and have definitely lapped *more* than my fair share of heatsinks big and small...