Can't Lock Memory Frequency?

Im no expert but the system your describing here is already up to date, as I would say. It would be a waste of money to upgrade when you have a good card and the best ram your processor will support which happens to be a 3.06 P4.

If you want your system to be better for 1 game and you have a few hundred$ to spare buy a CPU that has an 800FSB and pc3200 ram, the cpu being 3.06 doesn't matter if you can get at least a 2.66 with an 800fsb and PC3200

Edited by Coolzero101

I thought 1:1 was the "normal" divider.I'm not sure how the ASUS BIOS is layed out,but if you have set a 5:4 divider,then your memory should start out underclocked and give you some headroom to determine whether it's the CPU or the RAM holding you back.

hmm well in your bios you should have an Advanced something or other option (usually third one down on the left hand side) and then look around for some kind of setting that says System Performance with options Manual, Automatic... that should reveal the settings for your CPU:MEM ratio, maybe dig out the mobo manual or download it off the web...

you really don't need to upgrade with that rig... but yeah a bit of careful o/c-ing should sort things out...

oh yeah, yer unstable because of that divider, get it down to 1:1 and reap the bountiful harvest that is oc

I updated the first post with my BIOS settings. Looked around, but could not find anything to change that default 5/4 divider for the FSB to memory frequecy ratio.

I can bump CPU External Frequency up 1-2MHz, but after that, the system will blue screen and/or lock up during boot.

The System Performance Mode under Chip Configuration has three options: Auto, Optimal, and Turbo. There's nothing there to change the 5/4 divider.

Edited by teh roxxors

First off, welcome to OCC roxxors... DON'T TOUCH THE LLAMAS!!!! :ph34r::ph34r::ph34r:

Second, when you have issues like lockup after an OC, that usually means it's time to up the VCore or lower the FSB ;)