Big Question!

Hey Over-Clockers,

I am a little noob in an away. I just finished building my P4 3.2G 800Mhz FSB PC and I am using this HeatSink ( Link ) My question is what software or what do I have to do to over clock my P4? I want to over-clock it the safity way! But I want to try to get the max out of my P4. Can you overclockers tell me how to do it?

Welcome to OCC! Sounds like you've got some good stuff to work with. Overclocking success is primarily determined by what mobo you have...what kind is it? If it's something based off intel's 865/875 or SIS's 655TX then you'll be in the best shape for overclocking. Anyway, avoid overclocking within windows like the plague...it is VERY buggy and will usually end up trashing your installation of windows if you aren't careful. Overclock using your bios. Before we go too much further, we need to know the specs of the rest of your system, mainly the mobo and ram.

Oh, BTW, is that processor a Northwood or a Prescott?

As Eva_Unit_0 said, welcome to OCC. I also agree with everything he said, we pretty much need to know that stuff before we can help. But before you ask any other questions I would recommend you read the OC FAQ on this page (Here) to at least get you familiar with the basics of OCing and the terms.

Filth

Well this is what I have in my System

O/S - windows XP Home

Memory - PC3200 2x 256MB DDR Dual.. So it's = to 512MB

Hard drive - 160GB WesternDigiel 8MB

Video Card - GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR

Sound Card - Sound blaster 5.1

MotherBoard - Asus P4P800 Deluxe

CD-roms - 52x32x52x16x LD burner/dvd player

2 CD-roms - 52x CD rom

T.V. tuner

oh and I got bored and I did this to my cables Link

That's it