Why Can't People Just Keep It Simple?

Rokkaholik

So.... I try to do my best as a helpful person to both friends and strangers, especially if I've had experience or have knowledge with whatever they seem to need help with. A few days ago a lady on my Facebook "For Sale, etc" group posted that she was looking for a decent gaming PC for her son. Their house was robbed and his good laptop was one of the bigger things stolen. She came right out and said that she is a single mom and only has $600-ish bucks to spend.

I won't ever claim to be a PC "technician" nor do I have a degree of any kind , but I know enough to be dangerous. What I will admit that I'm good at is research and finding Bang For The Buck deals on things, so I asked her a few questions regarding her needs.

First, the term "gaming PC" is a wide spread term and can be anything from playing solitaire to the most heavily graphics intensive stuff out there, so I asked her what games her son intended to play because that would be a big factor on how to stay within her budget.

She said he likes some shooter type games like COD and a few others.

I then asked what she all had for Monitors, speakers, mice, keyboards, etc... Apparently, she is covered in all that so basically the entire budget could be then spend on the tower itself.

I suggested online searches first so she could have plenty of things to compare and NOT have to deal with the in-person salesman type seller who may talk up his 10 year old boat anchor and possibly scam her. I broke it down for her how to be able to Google Processors and other parts, read reviews and check to see when they were released as well as looking up current sale prices on ebay, and then gave her a few specs to stay within.