Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How good is my new system....


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#25 xenkw0n

xenkw0n

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 August 2016 - 04:59 PM

Where does it BSOD?  You can try pressing F8 during startup until you get to the advanced boot options menu and select Safe Mode to see if that will install.  After you do that your best bet is to simply uninstall your drivers.  If you can get that far see if Windows will start normally and allow you to install the new drivers.  Might have to go back into Safe Mode after uninstalling your drivers to install the new ones for your new motherboard.

 

There's also a thread in here with different steps you can take to get everything to work with a new motherboard;

 

http://forums.overcl...ur-motherboard/

 

Do you have another Windows key or were you expecting to use the old drive in your new machine?  Once you get a SSD you can also use a program like Macrium Reflect to copy your hard drive to the SSD and start booting windows from the new drive.



#26 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 21 August 2016 - 06:19 PM

Arconis backup has a feature in it that will let you clone the os to a new set of hardware, I have never used it but I know it will work, there are some older treads here in the forums about how to do it, not sure if it will work on an upgrade from vista though ?
CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#27 xenkw0n

xenkw0n

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 August 2016 - 07:18 PM

It will just make an exact copy.  I'm only saying for later down the line.



#28 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 21 August 2016 - 11:02 PM

Thanks. I'll try this stuff out.


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#29 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 22 August 2016 - 08:11 AM

Tried safe mode but when it loads after it bsods. I also tried windows repair to see if it would see it or ask for basic drivers cd. No luck though. Therepair log said it was driver issues obviously.

-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#30 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 22 August 2016 - 12:07 PM

Good news is I hooked up my HDs to my old PC. Bad news is when I run the CD with the drivers for the new motherboard, it says CD failed. Not sure why. I went to their site for them but not sure what drivers/bios....etc stuff I need to download!
http://www.gigabyte....id=5833#utility


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#31 xenkw0n

xenkw0n

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 August 2016 - 01:47 PM

If you have it working in your old machine then you won't be able to install drivers for your new motherboard.  Your best bet is uninstalling your old devices from Device Manager, making sure Windows doesn't attempt to install your devices automatically since you'll probably need to restart at least once after uninstalling everything... and Windows will try to install drivers again;

 

http://www.sevenforu...stallation.html

 

After they're all removed, put the drive in your new computer and see if it boots up.  Then you can re-enable windows driver updates and Windows will probably download most of the ones you need to get going.



#32 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 22 August 2016 - 05:31 PM

Ah I see. I seen something like that earlier but wasn't sure what devices to uninstall. All of them? Heres my list:
 

Attached Files


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#33 xenkw0n

xenkw0n

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 August 2016 - 06:00 PM

There's probably only a couple that are causing the issues.  To be safe I would try this tool first (this is safer since certain devices being uninstalled can cause other issues);

 

http://www.thewindow...up-tool-windows

 

 

And if you still get a BSOD you can dig in deeper with a tool like this and more easily remove certain devices;

 

http://lifehacker.co...-device-manager



#34 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 22 August 2016 - 06:19 PM

Not sure if you posted it but what was your old mb and cpu, if you are trying to use the hd that was in an amd system to an intel mb and cpu especially a very old one you might be out of luck, it may be worth your while just to reload windows.
CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#35 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 22 August 2016 - 06:37 PM

Here is another option, why don't you use the old mb to boot the hd, then partition the hd, put it in the new system and reinstall windows to the new partition, that way all your data (not programs ) will be still on the old partition. The programs will be there but you won't be able to access them .
CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#36 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 29 August 2016 - 10:18 PM

Sorry I missed the other posts. Got a new HD and installed Win 7. Turns out most of the old programs worked fine without reinstallation! Though this time I am keeping the Win 7 HD with not much on it so I don't lost much if it should die and what not. 


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports