Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New Build for my son


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 peshewah

peshewah

    peshewah

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 05 May 2016 - 07:02 PM

Got the last of the parts today.

I7 6700k cpu & NH -U12S heatsink

Asus Z170-A mobo

MSI R9 390

G Skill 16GB PC2400 I think

Samsung SSD 850 250gb and 2 other harddrive

 EVGA 850 PSU

 

    Its up and running. Seems to run good. I would like to overclock but my son keeps his room to hot. Is there anything I need to enable or disable in the bios?

   One other thing, the Asus mobo is nice. I really like the lay out

 



#2 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted 06 May 2016 - 08:18 AM

Dang, what do you need to overclock for? That CPU is crazy fast as-is. Your mobo should have some auto-overclock settings, try those first.


Current System

[CPU] Ryzen 5 system --- [CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi 2 --- (AMP) Emotiva A-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums 

 

 


#3 peshewah

peshewah

    peshewah

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 06 May 2016 - 09:55 AM

Black64, I used default setting. It would be easy to overclock but my boys room is so hot. He likes it that way. I had to en-able XMP. But, on the mobo, there is a XMP switch. I left it alone. But yes it runs good



#4 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11274 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson, AZ

Posted 06 May 2016 - 10:18 AM

You might want to check and make sure all the voltages are set instead of left to auto. Your son already keeps the room hot, no need adding any extra heat if you don't need it.


Intel Core i5 4690K - ASUS Z97-A - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB DDR3-2133 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD - Seagate 750GB + 2TB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 - Sapphire Vapor-X CPU Cooler - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
KPMA7MM.png


#5 peshewah

peshewah

    peshewah

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 06 May 2016 - 05:58 PM

Do you know what a good voltage would be?



#6 feetfats

feetfats

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1008 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 May 2016 - 07:50 PM

Sounds like a sweet build. Any pictures?


i5 3570k @ 4.3ghz 1.255v

Gigabyte GTX1070 ti

16gb DDR3 

Phanteks Eclipse P400 (Thanks OCC + Phanteks)

 

 


#7 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11274 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson, AZ

Posted 06 May 2016 - 08:46 PM

Do you know what a good voltage would be?

 

Whatever the items are supposed to be set at. So around 1.2v for the CPU, 1.35v for the RAM if you're keeping things at stock.


Intel Core i5 4690K - ASUS Z97-A - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB DDR3-2133 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD - Seagate 750GB + 2TB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 - Sapphire Vapor-X CPU Cooler - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
KPMA7MM.png


#8 peshewah

peshewah

    peshewah

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 07 May 2016 - 05:39 AM

Thanks again bp9801

 Feetsfats, the cases is huge Lian Li. I had a hard time stretching the wires from point A to point B so its not a build to be proud of. So no, no pictures. I didn't want to build a new computer. I tried to upgrade the graphics card and PSU but the mobo didn't like it and I had too much cash in the new GPU & PSU to turn back. I didn't want to buy a  new mobo that was out dated so I moved forward. I was able to use the case and 2 hard drives for the new build. But yes my son digs his new rig



#9 peshewah

peshewah

    peshewah

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 07 May 2016 - 07:57 AM

bp9801 I got 1.28v on CPU and 1.2 on the ram



#10 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11274 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson, AZ

Posted 07 May 2016 - 08:21 AM

bp9801 I got 1.28v on CPU and 1.2 on the ram

 

Those are fine, no issues there.


Intel Core i5 4690K - ASUS Z97-A - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB DDR3-2133 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD - Seagate 750GB + 2TB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 - Sapphire Vapor-X CPU Cooler - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
KPMA7MM.png


#11 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12447 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 May 2016 - 07:27 AM

Your cooling capacity in the room will ultimately determine your overclock. The Noctua cooler is a great bit of hardware and you should be able to get a mild overclock with it. You can use AISuite III to set your overclock using the TPU tool or go into the BIOS and use it there. I cannot remember the F Key number in the Eazy section of the BIOS but it is about as seamless as you can get. 


Processor Intel Core I7 4690X  4.3Ghz
Memory G.Skill RipJaws  32GB 2400Mhz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV BE
Graphics  GTX TitanX x2
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor ASUS PQ321Q
Cooling Liquid by comittee

Storage  OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB  Seagate 8TB
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#12 peshewah

peshewah

    peshewah

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 08 May 2016 - 05:54 PM

I will try it . Thanks ccokeman