Jump to content


Photo

What Are Your "HONEST" Opinions On Windows 10?


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#13 phil69

phil69

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Beach Park, IL.

Posted 25 March 2016 - 07:39 AM

I just want to remain the oldest until the Windows 2099 upgrade.


Asus M4A89GTD PRO/USB3, AMD Phenom II X6 1055,
BIOS 1301, Xigmatek Gaia, Corsair 8GB Dominator CMD8GX3M4A1333C7,
MSI R5750 MD1G,
WD Caviar Black 1 TB Sata III, Antec P183 Case, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit

#14 Rokkaholik

Rokkaholik

    667 - Neighbor Of The Beast

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1166 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 March 2016 - 08:18 AM

One side question... I have Internet Explorer 11 and it is up to date. It was on my Windows 7 machine as well. Does IE-11 just not get along well with THIS forum for some reason? Whenever I try to QUOTE or REPLY on this forum using IE-11, 80% of the time it won't let me type, copy, paste, or anything involving the buttons above the typing window. I don't have this issue on Chrome. It's maddening. I'm not really a fan of Chrome, but it's a good backup considering the other crap browsers out there such as Firefox, Edge, and others...


CPU: Intel Core I7 6700 Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666MHz

CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalem with 2 Scythe S-Flex Push/Pull Fans
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7
Case: CoolerMaster CM 690 II Advanced PSU: Corsair RM750x
Main HDD: 256gb Samsung 950 Pro M2 OS: Windows 10 Professional 64 bit
Backup HDD's: 2 x 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black + 2TB WD20EARS
Video: Nvidia GTX 1070 Monitor: 32" ASUS PB328Q
Keyboard: Logitech Internet 350 Mouse: Logitech MX1000 Laser

Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1


#15 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Nimrod

  • Folding Member
  • 1568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 25 March 2016 - 09:04 AM

I have same issues with this site, I can't use any smiley's, quote's, or copy, paste using IE 11. The page freezes or I get a small error message. I'll try loading Chrome see what happens.

 

Edit : 

I just loaded Chrome Beta a sec ago, and everything on this site works fine now :wacko:  that's crazy,.. all this time I thought it was my rig IP address or something screwed up in my system causing errors.  :lol:


Edited by Braegnok, 25 March 2016 - 09:35 AM.

Intel Core i7-9700K 

Asus Maximus XI Apex

Corsair 16GB DDR4

GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

SeaSonic SSR-1000TR

Corsair H115i Extreme


#16 ClayMeow

ClayMeow

    Member Title Exceeds Member Title Character Limit

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 25 March 2016 - 09:26 AM

One side question... I have Internet Explorer 11 and it is up to date. It was on my Windows 7 machine as well. Does IE-11 just not get along well with THIS forum for some reason? Whenever I try to QUOTE or REPLY on this forum using IE-11, 80% of the time it won't let me type, copy, paste, or anything involving the buttons above the typing window. I don't have this issue on Chrome. It's maddening. I'm not really a fan of Chrome, but it's a good backup considering the other crap browsers out there such as Firefox, Edge, and others...

Hold on a sec....did you just call Firefox crap (and even Edge) when you're using IE11, which MS has completely abandoned?!?!

 

Internet....

Explorer....

 

GTFO


CMt.png
- Steam - Raptr - Xfire - GameSpot - Kongregate - IGN Blog -
- ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe - i7 3770k - NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti - 16GB DDR3-1866MHz - Acer Predator X34 -
::: Follow OCC on facebook.png ::: OCC Xfire Clan ::: OCC Steam Community Group ::: OCC Rules :::

::: OCC E3 2013 Awards ::: CES 2013 ::: COMPUTEX 2010 :::

::: NVIDIA SHIELD Android TV Review ::: Acer Predator X34 Review :::


#17 Rokkaholik

Rokkaholik

    667 - Neighbor Of The Beast

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1166 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 March 2016 - 01:06 PM

I am one of the odd people that has RARELY had an issue with IE except for IE9. I know it's odd...lol

 

Yes, I've tried the others and either didn't like them or had worse issues with them. Chrome was the least of the evils.

 

I'm typing on IE-11 right now. We'll see if this works


CPU: Intel Core I7 6700 Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666MHz

CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalem with 2 Scythe S-Flex Push/Pull Fans
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7
Case: CoolerMaster CM 690 II Advanced PSU: Corsair RM750x
Main HDD: 256gb Samsung 950 Pro M2 OS: Windows 10 Professional 64 bit
Backup HDD's: 2 x 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black + 2TB WD20EARS
Video: Nvidia GTX 1070 Monitor: 32" ASUS PB328Q
Keyboard: Logitech Internet 350 Mouse: Logitech MX1000 Laser

Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1


#18 Rokkaholik

Rokkaholik

    667 - Neighbor Of The Beast

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1166 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 March 2016 - 01:07 PM

Yes, and so far I HATE Edge...... Not a fan of the layout or other odd features so far.


CPU: Intel Core I7 6700 Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666MHz

CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalem with 2 Scythe S-Flex Push/Pull Fans
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7
Case: CoolerMaster CM 690 II Advanced PSU: Corsair RM750x
Main HDD: 256gb Samsung 950 Pro M2 OS: Windows 10 Professional 64 bit
Backup HDD's: 2 x 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black + 2TB WD20EARS
Video: Nvidia GTX 1070 Monitor: 32" ASUS PB328Q
Keyboard: Logitech Internet 350 Mouse: Logitech MX1000 Laser

Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1


#19 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 25 March 2016 - 06:33 PM

I use ie11 with this site, to reply I have no problems but if I want to do a quote to another post I have to go basic with no smileys or fancy stuff. I just click the first icon top left in reply box and then do a quote button. :teehee:


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#20 WhenKittensATK

WhenKittensATK

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8236 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 26 March 2016 - 12:19 PM

I upgraded when it released, no major issues that I remember. It supported all my devices from the start. Some other people mentioned issues with devices, but that's really on the manufacture to release drivers. Don't notice any reduced performance in games.

 

I still do the same old ritual on fresh install. Disable UAC -> Enable Auto-Login -> Install programs. I don't even touch the Microsoft Store or ever return to metro UI. You can also download Windows 10 Toggle Tweaker to edit/disable a lot of the built-in features like Cortana, privacy settings, and etc. I would link it but I have no clue where I originally got it from. I think someone sent it to me, but it is called Toggle Tweaker at least.


Edited by WhenKittensATK, 26 March 2016 - 12:22 PM.

Gaming Rig || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 8GB || MSI GTX 1070 || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

Peripherals || ASUS PG279Q || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Blue Snowball ||

Audio Gear || Schiit Bitfrost 4490 || Schiit Lyr 2 || Sennheiser HD6XX || Monoprice 605500 ||

NAS || Intel Xeon E3-1275 v5 || Supermicro X11SSH-LN4F || Samsung 16 GB ECC RAM || SeaSonic X-Series 750W || 54 TB Raw Storage ||


#21 Coors

Coors

    ????? ????

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3668 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kommifornistan

Posted 27 March 2016 - 06:03 PM

I tried it for about a week and went right back to Win7.  I have a feeling I'll be running Win7 for quite some time.  I'll be like one of those stubborn bastards hanging onto XP for over a decade.  I like to keep my OS interface simple.  I don't have shortcuts on my desktop or a half dozen shortcuts on my toolbar with a built in search bar or a start menu that I need a map and a compass to navigate.  Sure I could customize Win10 to my liking but I just don't feel the need when Win7 is already perfect.


Aorus X470 Gaming 7 - AMD Ryzen 2700X - EVGA GTX1080 TI - 2x16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 3200Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB/ 1TB Hitachi - Enermax 1020w

Sager NP9170 - i7 3720QM - GTX680m - 16GB 1600Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB

Shuttle SP35P2V2 - E8600 4Ghz - eVGA 8800GTX ACS KO - 2x2GB g.skill PK - Samsung 500GB/2x Samsung 1TB


#22 ClayMeow

ClayMeow

    Member Title Exceeds Member Title Character Limit

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 27 March 2016 - 07:15 PM

I tried it for about a week and went right back to Win7.  I have a feeling I'll be running Win7 for quite some time.  I'll be like one of those stubborn bastards hanging onto XP for over a decade.  I like to keep my OS interface simple.  I don't have shortcuts on my desktop or a half dozen shortcuts on my toolbar with a built in search bar or a start menu that I need a map and a compass to navigate.  Sure I could customize Win10 to my liking but I just don't feel the need when Win7 is already perfect.

I'm glad you called yourself stubborn so I don't have to ;). Customizing Win10 to your liking is a one-time event, which would probably take ten minutes tops, if not much shorter. Also, the Win10 desktop is void of shortcuts by default and the toolbar shortcuts is four by default (if you count the task view icon), and Cortana can be permanently hidden in two clicks. There's stubborn and then there's just lazy ;)


CMt.png
- Steam - Raptr - Xfire - GameSpot - Kongregate - IGN Blog -
- ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe - i7 3770k - NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti - 16GB DDR3-1866MHz - Acer Predator X34 -
::: Follow OCC on facebook.png ::: OCC Xfire Clan ::: OCC Steam Community Group ::: OCC Rules :::

::: OCC E3 2013 Awards ::: CES 2013 ::: COMPUTEX 2010 :::

::: NVIDIA SHIELD Android TV Review ::: Acer Predator X34 Review :::


#23 Coors

Coors

    ????? ????

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3668 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kommifornistan

Posted 27 March 2016 - 08:26 PM

 

I tried it for about a week and went right back to Win7.  I have a feeling I'll be running Win7 for quite some time.  I'll be like one of those stubborn bastards hanging onto XP for over a decade.  I like to keep my OS interface simple.  I don't have shortcuts on my desktop or a half dozen shortcuts on my toolbar with a built in search bar or a start menu that I need a map and a compass to navigate.  Sure I could customize Win10 to my liking but I just don't feel the need when Win7 is already perfect.

I'm glad you called yourself stubborn so I don't have to ;). Customizing Win10 to your liking is a one-time event, which would probably take ten minutes tops, if not much shorter. Also, the Win10 desktop is void of shortcuts by default and the toolbar shortcuts is four by default (if you count the task view icon), and Cortana can be permanently hidden in two clicks. There's stubborn and then there's just lazy ;)

 

There's still the start menu which is really the biggest complaint of the ones I listed.  Didn't like it in Win8 and don't like it in Win10.  If I can have a Win7 type start menu without installing any extra programs I'd be more open to Win10.


Aorus X470 Gaming 7 - AMD Ryzen 2700X - EVGA GTX1080 TI - 2x16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 3200Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB/ 1TB Hitachi - Enermax 1020w

Sager NP9170 - i7 3720QM - GTX680m - 16GB 1600Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB

Shuttle SP35P2V2 - E8600 4Ghz - eVGA 8800GTX ACS KO - 2x2GB g.skill PK - Samsung 500GB/2x Samsung 1TB


#24 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 28 March 2016 - 05:09 AM

 

 

I tried it for about a week and went right back to Win7.  I have a feeling I'll be running Win7 for quite some time.  I'll be like one of those stubborn bastards hanging onto XP for over a decade.  I like to keep my OS interface simple.  I don't have shortcuts on my desktop or a half dozen shortcuts on my toolbar with a built in search bar or a start menu that I need a map and a compass to navigate.  Sure I could customize Win10 to my liking but I just don't feel the need when Win7 is already perfect.

I'm glad you called yourself stubborn so I don't have to ;). Customizing Win10 to your liking is a one-time event, which would probably take ten minutes tops, if not much shorter. Also, the Win10 desktop is void of shortcuts by default and the toolbar shortcuts is four by default (if you count the task view icon), and Cortana can be permanently hidden in two clicks. There's stubborn and then there's just lazy ;)

 

There's still the start menu which is really the biggest complaint of the ones I listed.  Didn't like it in Win8 and don't like it in Win10.  If I can have a Win7 type start menu without installing any extra programs I'd be more open to Win10.

 

A start menu even better than Win 7's is a couple clicks away.  Classic Shell.  It's the very first thing I do on a new Win 10 install.  Way more customizeable than any Windows start menu.  IObit makes a good one too.


The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS