First new build since the c2q

whitefiretiger

Well my old core 2 quad build had seen better days and even with lots of upgrades its performance wasnt what i wanted.

I had been hunting for bargains for about 2 months and snagging cheap parts where i could and last night was finaly able to throw everything together and boot up.

Specs are as follows

Case: Thermaltake V3 black edition (reused from old build till i can find the right replacement)

Psu: Thermaltake 600w TR-600

Mobo: Asus M5A97 LE R2.0

Cpu: AMD FX-6300

Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb kit (2x 4gb) ddr3 1600

Gpu: HIS Radeon HD 6850

SSD: Corsair Force LS 120gb (boot drive)

HDD 1: WD 250gb enterprise

HDD 2: Hitachi 1tb enterprise

Cpu cooler: CM Hyper 212 Evo with upgraded fans

ODD: Lite-on DVD rw (had it laying around)

My total investment is $125 at this point.

Planning to get a different case and another 8gb ram and im sure ill want to change a few other things later on as well.

Let me know what you guys think.

935163.png

Edited by whitefiretiger

Looks pretty solid. I'd go with a newer video card before too long, depending on your resolution and games played. What are you looking for in a case?

Thanks. Think the video card will be ok for a while (its 2x as good as my old card) but have played with the idea if i can find another cheap just run them in crossfire.

As for a case the big things are wide enough that the hyper 212 evo fits inside, good air flow (120mm fans prefered as thats what i own a ton of), space for decent cable management, and I'd like a window but can always add my own again, budget friendly is the key.

Heres one i really like but kind of holding out to see if i can find better price (wish they sold it for less without all the fans) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=11-353-051

Edited by whitefiretiger

I admire your frugality with this build! Very nice!