Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Frustrating Sony Viao laptop


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#13 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 12 October 2015 - 07:04 PM

 

if that doesnt reproduce the issue try re-seating all the cables or film strips.

Yeah I'm up to 21 passes on test 5 right now and still going...*rips out hair* :lol:

 

If I'm in there ripping all the cables out then that som'bitch's board's coming out and feeling the heat of my oven...I'm just too busy right now to do it :unsure:

 

49 Passes...I think it's proved its point :-/


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#14 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 12 October 2015 - 07:11 PM

You sure that hd you put in it is not the problem, maybe you should run a few tests on it, could be a bad connection at the laptop port. Worth a try .
CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#15 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 12 October 2015 - 07:14 PM

You sure that hd you put in it is not the problem, maybe you should run a few tests on it, could be a bad connection at the laptop port. Worth a try .

Or worse, the SATA port lol


Edited by IVIYTH0S, 12 October 2015 - 07:14 PM.

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#16 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 12 October 2015 - 07:37 PM

You sure that hd you put in it is not the problem, maybe you should run a few tests on it, could be a bad connection at the laptop port. Worth a try .

Or worse, the SATA port lol

Which is what I meant,lol, hey it beats baking the mb and a lot less to take apart.
CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#17 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 12 October 2015 - 08:37 PM

 

 

You sure that hd you put in it is not the problem, maybe you should run a few tests on it, could be a bad connection at the laptop port. Worth a try .

Or worse, the SATA port lol

 

Which is what I meant,lol, hey it beats baking the mb and a lot less to take apart.

 

I'm gonna have to anyway though, since it's hiiiiiiiiiiiiiighly unlikely the HDD is bad since it was a drive sent back from WD that I had gotten replaced a while ago that never was even removed from its static bag. I'll trust WD to have tested it before sending it out lol


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#18 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 13 October 2015 - 02:46 AM

I would test it anyways....I've gotten bad drives in return.


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#19 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 13 October 2015 - 09:02 AM

I would test it anyways....I've gotten bad drives in return.

+1 to that, when you rma a hd you get a refurbished drive back, not a new one .
CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#20 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 13 October 2015 - 09:57 AM

^ Never make assumptions when troubleshooting. :)



#21 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 13 October 2015 - 10:12 AM

I would test it anyways....I've gotten bad drives in return.

+1 to that, when you rma a hd you get a refurbished drive back, not a new one .

^ Never make assumptions when troubleshooting. :)

I suppose... but the fact that it froze during memtest makes me doubtful regardless.


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#22 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 13 October 2015 - 12:39 PM

usually a freeze during a memory test is a hardware issue ;)


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#23 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 13 October 2015 - 02:10 PM

usually a freeze during a memory test is a hardware issue ;)

Yeah but harddrive? lol The harddrive has no bearing on that...to test that theory I could remove the harddrive while I run it next time even though it wouldn't fail the last two times.... I think the bake will be the ultimate do or die attempt for it but I'll still do some harddrive tests tonight.


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#24 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 13 October 2015 - 03:51 PM

It's possible the SATA controller is wonky, but I agree, it won't be touched at all during memtest.

Bake! :D

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.