Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

i7 950 100ºC Load (bad sensor?)


  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1 Fragsman

Fragsman

    loco_frags

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Posted 09 December 2014 - 08:55 PM

Hey whatsapp locos

 

I'm here again with a strange case.

 

Previous information. Like one year ago I ran Prime 95 just for playing. When CPU reach nearly 90ºC I turned the program off. When I put my hand over the Case FAN I felt some hot.

 

Today I was playing Watchdogs and boom everything was uber-slow. Temp was 100ºC!!!!! OMG I put my hand over case FAN and not heat coming out! Why? FAN was in reverse. I applied thermal paste to CPU correctly as I always do 1 every 6 months or so and corrected the fan.

 

Now, Idle 54ºC (normal as usuall)

Idle playing 100ºC!!!!!!!!!!! It is impossible now I feel the air because FAN is corretly positioned and the air is not hot. Remember the case above I said I felt hot under 90ºC Imagine now with 100ºC.

 

Sensor measures ok at 54ºC because I remember It is always like that at idle but never ever 100ºC.

 

Isn't there any way to fix or replace sensor, is it?

 

Another very impotant data. i7 950 has 4 cores. 2 were 0% load. Other 20% max and other 15% max. it cannot be CPU is 100ºC. Also if that is the case it should be burned or reseted already.

 

Any thoughts? Many Thanks as usual. 


Desktop: Intel i5 9400F / Corsair H60 / ASUS TUF B360ProGaming / 2x8Gb Kingston HyperX Fury 2400Mhz /  120gb Kingston M2 SSD + WD Black 1Tb / 24" Philips 243V5L / Gigabyte 1660tix 6Gb / Thermaltake v9 Black / Thermaltake 750w / DVD RW+ LG Black 22x / Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset + Edifier R133

Laptop: AMD Athlon 64x2 TK57 1.9Ghz / 4GBRAM / HD 120 Gb 5400RPM / ATI x1250 128Mb / 15.4" Screen

My Creation below

2ag8awm.gif


#2 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:WA

Posted 09 December 2014 - 09:13 PM

you can't fix or replace the senor as its on the die. So i guess as long as it doesnt downclock do to thermals you should be okay. Now if it is downclocking and you are sure it's just the sensor than you can turn it off in the bios. it is possible from all those times you reseated the cpu cooler, it's no longer flat therfore causing the high temps. Thats extremely unlikely but you never know..

 

on a side note, there is no reason to re-do the thermal paste every 1-6 months. heck I leave it on for years. Once in a bluemoon i'll take it apart but thats just because i'm bored, not because it's required.


IR Twitter / OCC YouTube Channel / NVIDIA OC Guides; 1070, 1070 Ti, 1080 Ti, 2080

OCC Best AMD Motherboard Picks 2018 / OCC Best Mid ATX Computer Cases 2018

Main Rig: Threadripper 1920X, GIGABYTE X399 Designare EX, NVIDIA RTX 2080, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 32GB [email protected], Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#3 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 09 December 2014 - 09:19 PM

I agree with HBC, also if it idles at 54c that is not normal,it is high, should idle between 30 to 35, so maybe the cpu does have a problem.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#4 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 09 December 2014 - 09:29 PM

Only one way to find out:

http://www.ebay.com/...=item540928a66f


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#5 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 09 December 2014 - 10:34 PM

Right on IVI, forgot all about the temp sensor gun, I use mine on every pc I work on, always is within 2 degrees of what the software says.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#6 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 09 December 2014 - 11:26 PM

Right on IVI, forgot all about the temp sensor gun, I use mine on every pc I work on, always is within 2 degrees of what the software says.


Indeed, I love mine and it's far simpler and possibly cost me a little more than that. Great little gadget to have around :)

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#7 TimeMachine

TimeMachine

    Civilized Mind

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1505 posts

Posted 10 December 2014 - 08:41 AM

I have a 950 and it idles at around 35c given that its Oc'd to 3.5ghz . I have a 212+ cooler on it. 50 does sounds really high  . did you try dropping the voltages


qtind6.png
1528301.png


#8 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12447 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 December 2014 - 10:13 AM

What kind of cooler?

 

Try reflashing to the latest BIOS for the board! 


Processor Intel Core I7 4690X  4.3Ghz
Memory G.Skill RipJaws  32GB 2400Mhz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV BE
Graphics  GTX TitanX x2
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor ASUS PQ321Q
Cooling Liquid by comittee

Storage  OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB  Seagate 8TB
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#9 Fragsman

Fragsman

    loco_frags

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Posted 10 December 2014 - 11:51 AM

Hummmm... now that you mention.. I am confused.

 

I remember playing Mu Online (it doesn't matter but I remember I look at temps when playing that game, is not heavy but I put my characters AFK) and I do remember the temps were 55-59 so for sure my normal idle is not 54ºC. So all my readings are wrong.

 

Idle 54 = not acceptable

Load 100 = Hell NO acceptable

 

Seems that I need to find a thermodevice (dunno how to say in english)

 

ps1: My cooler is Intel the one that comes with the processor. But it is working properly.

ps2: One doubt I always had when people say update bios. If the hardware is always the same how can a Bios update help me with this? I mean Bios is not like Windows. It never updates so it cannot be corrupted, can it?


Edited by Fragsman, 10 December 2014 - 11:51 AM.

Desktop: Intel i5 9400F / Corsair H60 / ASUS TUF B360ProGaming / 2x8Gb Kingston HyperX Fury 2400Mhz /  120gb Kingston M2 SSD + WD Black 1Tb / 24" Philips 243V5L / Gigabyte 1660tix 6Gb / Thermaltake v9 Black / Thermaltake 750w / DVD RW+ LG Black 22x / Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset + Edifier R133

Laptop: AMD Athlon 64x2 TK57 1.9Ghz / 4GBRAM / HD 120 Gb 5400RPM / ATI x1250 128Mb / 15.4" Screen

My Creation below

2ag8awm.gif


#10 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 10 December 2014 - 12:00 PM

sometimes the bios will get corrupted so it won't hurt to pull the bios battery or short out the jumper pins to reset it to default once in a while, that will fix any problems you might have with it, but a thermal gun is the best way to check for proper temps.
Most likely with the intel stock cooler your idle temps might be around 40c, but they shouldn't be much more than that.

Edited by SpikeSoprano, 10 December 2014 - 12:03 PM.

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO
VIDEO>NVIDIA GTX-1070-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 2TB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 750WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ

#11 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12447 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 December 2014 - 12:17 PM

Hummmm... now that you mention.. I am confused.

 

I remember playing Mu Online (it doesn't matter but I remember I look at temps when playing that game, is not heavy but I put my characters AFK) and I do remember the temps were 55-59 so for sure my normal idle is not 54ºC. So all my readings are wrong.

 

Idle 54 = not acceptable

Load 100 = Hell NO acceptable

 

Seems that I need to find a thermodevice (dunno how to say in english)

 

ps1: My cooler is Intel the one that comes with the processor. But it is working properly.

ps2: One doubt I always had when people say update bios. If the hardware is always the same how can a Bios update help me with this? I mean Bios is not like Windows. It never updates so it cannot be corrupted, can it?

 Ouch and see below. 

 

sometimes the bios will get corrupted so it won't hurt to pull the bios battery or short out the jumper pins to reset it to default once in a while, that will fix any problems you might have with it, but a thermal gun is the best way to check for proper temps.
Most likely with the intel stock cooler your idle temps might be around 40c, but they shouldn't be much more than that.


Processor Intel Core I7 4690X  4.3Ghz
Memory G.Skill RipJaws  32GB 2400Mhz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV BE
Graphics  GTX TitanX x2
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor ASUS PQ321Q
Cooling Liquid by comittee

Storage  OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB  Seagate 8TB
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#12 Fragsman

Fragsman

    loco_frags

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Posted 10 December 2014 - 02:04 PM

Well. New test today. Applied thermal paste seems to be "accomodating". Now idle is 38-40 (more than usual yes) and load is 84ºC max (I tested for about 5-7 minutes) yesterday with same time I reached 99-100ºC. So.. sensor is ok I guess. Somehow I'm reaching pretty high temps.

 

The thermal paste I appli like 1 milimeter or less. Is a very thin layer that I apply.

Remember this PC was working like for 6-7 months with a 23cm fan reversed, which caused high temps and alarm me about all this. It was my fault. That could have fvcked my CPU in some way (sorry for the word) because the air was trapped except for a little 12cm FAN. Maybe that caused that now will no longer be as cold as before.


Desktop: Intel i5 9400F / Corsair H60 / ASUS TUF B360ProGaming / 2x8Gb Kingston HyperX Fury 2400Mhz /  120gb Kingston M2 SSD + WD Black 1Tb / 24" Philips 243V5L / Gigabyte 1660tix 6Gb / Thermaltake v9 Black / Thermaltake 750w / DVD RW+ LG Black 22x / Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset + Edifier R133

Laptop: AMD Athlon 64x2 TK57 1.9Ghz / 4GBRAM / HD 120 Gb 5400RPM / ATI x1250 128Mb / 15.4" Screen

My Creation below

2ag8awm.gif