Hard drive recovery

SpeedCrazy

As anyone in the southeast right now could tell you, we are having some rather severe(for this area) weather. And unfortunately its latest casualty appears to be my desktop hdd.

I do have my most important files backed up but if possible i would like to try and get the others off.

So to that end, what would y'all recommend? I have an identical drive i can copy the files to if i can access them, but i have never done this before so the accessing part is where i need help.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Speed

BTW, i do know google could help, but i am kinda busy cleaning up the mess from this storm and have already lost power several times so i hope to have an idea of where to start when i get a chance to work on it rather than starting from scratch.

what kind of damage, unless the data was been "erased" like corrupted data and the drive still works, you will have to send it off to a data recovery place that works in a clean room. Its not cheap either, my friend had to pay $1500 for 5gb.

Don't use the drive. AT ALL. Remove it from your computer entirely.

Install an undelete/recovery program on another computer, plug in your drive and scan it.

I use R-Studio, it was expensive but it has saved a lot of stuff.

Edited by Andrewr05

what kind of damage, unless the data was been "erased" like corrupted data and the drive still works, you will have to send it off to a data recovery place that works in a clean room. Its not cheap either, my friend had to pay $1500 for 5gb.

Not real sure, i went to boot it up this morning and it told me to insert a boot drive. So i turned it off and left it in case i was at risk of doing more damage. 1500 for 5gb? I'm am screwd, thats a 500gb hdd.....

Don't use the drive. AT ALL. Remove it from your computer entirely.

Install an undelete/recovery program on another computer, plug in your drive and scan it.

I use R-Studio, it was expensive but it has saved a lot of stuff.