Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

USB 3.0 Ports Not Working


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#13 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1426 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 14 November 2013 - 06:58 PM

Wingspar

 

Please post up another pic of your device manager now that you've installed all the drivers.

 

Also (still in device manager) click on "View" and select "Show Hidden Devices"

 

Give the list a moment to re-populate.  Do you seen any other devices with warning marks next to them?  If so please post up a pic of that.

 

Other trouble shooting and potential fixes include;

 

Make sure you are running the latest BIOS revision for your motherboard.  If not update to latest.

 

If you are running the latest BIOS revision, clear CMOS and reload default values.

 

Disconnect all currently connected USB devices (except for keyboard and mouse if applicable) for now.

 

Update the USB Firmware and Drivers, specifically make sure that you are running the latest versions of the following - if in doubt go ahead and re-install / update anyway;

 

Intel USB 3.0 Extensible Host Controller Driver

 

ASMedia USB 3.0 Driver

 

ASMedia USB 3.0 Firmware

 

Reboot as needed and begin reconnecting USB devices.  You should probably start with the one that is giving you the trouble right now.

 

 

Here is the latest Device Manager.  I clicked on “Show hidden devices”.  There is no warning marks next to anything unless those items under “Other Devices” is a Win 7 warning.  XP warnings stood out like a sore thumb.  I downloaded the latest USB 3.0 drivers from the ASUS site last night.

original.jpg


Edited by wingspar, 14 November 2013 - 07:00 PM.

Gary

Will Fly for Food

#14 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 14 November 2013 - 07:46 PM

And did you try uninstalling the drivers manually and then letting them reinstall/detect??


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#15 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4152 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 November 2013 - 11:33 PM

Uninstall the existing related drivers at first and then try to install them from the scratch. See what happens after that..


boozei.gif


#16 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 15 November 2013 - 07:50 AM

Wing - yes those are warnings  :)

 

Right mouse click on the "SM Bus Controller" and select properties.  Under the "General" tab take a look at the "Device Status" box.  What does it say?

 

Do the same for the Universal Serial Bus (USB) Controller.


40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg

#17 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1426 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 15 November 2013 - 08:40 AM

 

Wing - yes those are warnings   :)

 

Right mouse click on the "SM Bus Controller" and select properties.  Under the "General" tab take a look at the "Device Status" box.  What does it say?

 

Do the same for the Universal Serial Bus (USB) Controller.

 

SM Bus Controller" and select properties.  Under the "General" tab it says,

The drivers for this device are not installed.  (Code 28)
There is no driver selected for the device information set or element.
To find a driver for this device, click Update Driver

If I click “Update Driver” it can’t find one on my hard drive or the internet, and it takes about one second to tell me that.

Universal Serial Bus (USB) Controller.
 Exact same message. 
<script> function moveTo(){return true;}function resizeTo(){return true;}</script>


Gary

Will Fly for Food

#18 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 15 November 2013 - 08:49 AM

Gary, what version of Windows are you running and I'll point you to the drivers you need.

 

Edit: Here you'll have to do some of your own work   :)   I'm going to provide a link.

 

http://www.asus.com/...7V_PRO/#support

 

Click on "Driver & Tools"

 

Select "Operating System"

 

Expand "Chipset"

 

Download and install the following;

 

Intel Chipset Driver V9.3.0.1021 for Windows..............................

 

Intel® Management Engine Interface V8.1.0.1263............................

 

Reboot

 

Back to Asus Driver & Tools

 

Expand "LAN"

 

Download and install the following;

 

Intel LAN Driver V17.3.0.0...................................................

 

Reboot

 

Back to Asus Driver & Tools

 

Now I really do need to know what version of Windows you are running to make sure that I point you towards the correct Intel and ASmedia USB 3.0 drivers and driver controller


40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg

#19 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Nimrod

  • Folding Member
  • 1572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 15 November 2013 - 05:47 PM

Nicely done! Wevsspot  :thumbsup:

I wonder if OCC could have a Remote Assistance Link,.. for members with similar issues.  http://technet.micro...y/bb457004.aspx


Intel Core i7-8700K 

Asus Maximus X Apex

G.SKILL 16GB DDR4

GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

SeaSonic SSR-1000PD

Corsair H115i Extreme


#20 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 15 November 2013 - 05:50 PM

Nicely done! Wevsspot  :thumbsup:

I wonder if OCC could have a Remote Assistance Link,.. for members with similar issues.  http://technet.micro...y/bb457004.aspx

He could always just install Teamviewer and send his ID and temporary passcode


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#21 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Nimrod

  • Folding Member
  • 1572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 15 November 2013 - 06:06 PM

 I've used teamviewer to set up cameras to off site laptops,.. but never thought about using it for helping someone configure network connections or drivers.

Sometimes it's vary difficult explaining which tabs to expand or what to click on,.. it would be sweet to just log on and do it quickly for them.  


Edited by Braegnok, 15 November 2013 - 06:18 PM.

Intel Core i7-8700K 

Asus Maximus X Apex

G.SKILL 16GB DDR4

GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

SeaSonic SSR-1000PD

Corsair H115i Extreme


#22 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1426 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 15 November 2013 - 06:48 PM

 

Gary, what version of Windows are you running and I'll point you to the drivers you need.

 

Here is the OS:  Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit Service Pack 1

I followed that link to see where it took me, but I really won’t have time to get to that till tomorrow morning, even tho it might only take a few minutes, I’m better off doing it in the morning when I’m fresh and not in a rush to get it done.  I’ll post back with the results in the morning.  Thank you.  :)


Gary

Will Fly for Food

#23 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 15 November 2013 - 07:13 PM

 I've used teamviewer to set up cameras to off site laptops,.. but never thought about using it for helping someone configure network connections or drivers.

Sometimes it's vary difficult explaining which tabs to expand or what to click on,.. it would be sweet to just log on and do it quickly for them.  

I used to use LogMeIn before Teamviewer but they made their android app paid and Teamviewer is equally as sweet BUT LogMeIn had a way you could just send a link to someone and I believe they installed a mini client that let you work with their computer remotely. I did it once but it was sooo long ago so I forget the particulars


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#24 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 15 November 2013 - 11:07 PM

Gary, on the same driver download page you will find the Intel USB 3.0 driver, the Intel USB 3.0 controller driver and the ASmedia USB 3.0 driver. You'll need to download and install all three of those driver packages. Make sure and choose the ones that go with your version of Windows.


40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg