Fans for watercooling

skyjam

I'm pretty new to watercooling and my old fans have begun (some are even far beyond begun) to fail and I was just wondering if there were certain types of specifications that I should be looking for in new fans for both the case and the radiator.  The current set up I have is the XSPC rasa kit and it is just running on the CPU not cooling the GPU and its all in a Corsair Carbide 500R.  Any suggestions? I would prefer quite as my current fans are pretty loud and I am getting tired of the noise level.  Thanks.

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

For the radiator fans the key spec is the static pressure. You want fans that are at least 2mm H2O

I use these on all of my rads, they are quiet and at 3.53mm H2O move a lot of air through a rad.

They have Barometric ball bearings /100,000 Hr life

1.jpg

http://www.coolermaster-usa.com/product.php?product_id=2965&product_name=Excalibur%20(R4-EXBB-20PK-R0)

If you want ultra quiet, The Cougar fans are rated at 2.2 mmH2O at 19d

These have Hydro-dynamic bearing /300,000 Hr

2_03.jpg

http://www.cougar-world.com/products/fans/vortex_pwm.html

A good  case fan are the Noctua NF P14's They don't have a lot of static pressure to be used on rads, but move a lot of air quietly.

noctua_nf_p14_1.jpg

http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=productview&products_id=33&lng=en&set=1

I use the Excalibur for my rads, and the Cougars for my case fans. and that was after a lot of trial and error.

I use the Excalibur for my rads, and the Cougars for my case fans. and that was after a lot of trial and error.

Reading though this I was just thinking.... "where did all the cougar fans go?" haha :lol: I think you need to update you very old now, thread about your PC chuck in your latest Haven 3.0 bench which is quite insane I must say.