Done With Ms, What Now?

Ghost2520

I think I'm done with MS, I hate their customer service, I've had to reinstall windows 3 times this week because of corrupt system files. I'm done. I'm pretty sure I am going to switch to a dual boot system, Linux be my main OS and have windows 2000 just for games at LAN parties. Well I have questions about linux. 1.Can someone post pictures of what it looks like as far as the desktop etc.

2.Also, which linux would be best for me if I want to: watch DVD's, use AIM (instant messenger), watch other videos (you can watch avi and mpeg movies in linux right?), and cruise OCC.

3. Is the Mandrake linux what I am looking for? I'm basically a newb and know NOTHING about linux. If I get it, I'll be using it probably 30 out of 31 days in the month and only use Windows at the LAN parties I go to.

4. Does Linux still use NTFS file system? If not how do I format for it...

EDIT: Just realised I accidentally put this in the wrong category, would a mod please move it. :)

Edited by Ghost2520

1. Let me finish my install and sure, ill show you

2. Best OS... depends on how much you want to learn/be challenged - I use FreeBSD which is pretty challenging to install/detup and is techinally not linux. I started with RedHat 8 and then went to Slackware then Gentoo....

3. Sure

4. It never did... It will come with a partitioning utility called fdisk/cfdisk... cfdisk is better.... Linux uses ResierFS, ext3 or ext2 and can read/write to FAT partitions... NTFS == nono in the linux world

I'll look into it right now... the only problem so far seems to be finding programs for linux, the extras I mean. I've found Quicktime, Divx, AIM, and some older versions of DirectX. I can't seem to find any of those cool extras though such as wallpaper changer, and programs that convert mpeg/avi videos into screen savers... if you know of sites with programs just for Linux please post links. :)