Jump to content


Photo

Error 0x80070057 when installing windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#13 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 27 June 2012 - 09:18 AM

Thanks for the additional info Mucho. Here is what I'd try..........

Download the free version of Parted Magic that includes a built in secure erase utility and a friendly GUI
http://partedmagic.com/doku.php

Follow the secure erase tutorial here;
http://www.overclock...th-parted-magic (sorry for the redirect guys - but this is simply the best tutorial out there for the this operation IMHO)

This will completely erase all the blocks on the SSD - everything except those reserved for over-provisioning. This is accomplished through an actual flash of the memory blocks. It wipes everything.

Your SSD will be back in factory OEM state at this point. Try the installation again using best practices i.e. no other hard drives attached etc.
40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg

#14 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 27 June 2012 - 09:33 AM

What wev said. I had to do that with one of my drives as well. It would show up properly, I could use it in Windows, but Windows wouldn't install to it. I fired up Parted Magic, removed all volumes on the drive, then did a secure erase. It worked perfectly after that. :)

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.


#15 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 27 June 2012 - 10:04 AM

Ok, hit 2 am here, so ill keep trying tomorrow (later today technically)

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#16 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 27 June 2012 - 10:42 AM

NP - good luck and keep us posted. I'm pretty confident that our last recommendations will cure your ills.
40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg

#17 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:35 PM

ok, overslept a little, about to boot from my parted magic USB, hopefully this works

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#18 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 28 June 2012 - 04:29 AM

Ok, so this is being a real issue. The motherboard in my itx system is the portwell Wade 8011, its a server motherboard for the 1155 socket.

When I try install windows onto a working corsiar ssd, it will say I need drivers for the cd/dvd drive, if I install windows 7 onto a working ssd on another computer, then put it in the portwell system, it will recognize the drive in bios but will not boot from it


I am completely stuck here, and it's really . me off

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#19 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 28 June 2012 - 04:35 AM

Um...download the drivers for the chipset? If Windows doesn't have them, it won't install or boot...

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.


#20 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 28 June 2012 - 05:22 AM

After a couple of hours of searching, I cannot find the drivers for it.
Can anyone find anything?

Motherboard is portwell Wade 8011

I have tried everything in their driver folder for this

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#21 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 28 June 2012 - 06:25 AM

Mucho, do you have the option to boot from a USB drive? If so install Windows from the USB instead of attempting to install from the CD/DVD. Most motherboards support USB 2.0 without needing any additional drivers. I do all of my Windows 7 installs from USB. So much faster.
40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg

#22 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 28 June 2012 - 06:36 AM

Ok, so this is being a real issue. The motherboard in my itx system is the portwell Wade 8011, its a server motherboard for the 1155 socket.

When I try install windows onto a working corsiar ssd, it will say I need drivers for the cd/dvd drive, if I install windows 7 onto a working ssd on another computer, then put it in the portwell system, it will recognize the drive in bios but will not boot from it


I am completely stuck here, and it's really . me off


that doesnt sound right....

you've got the Boot order in the Bios for Hard Drive first? you may have to change it from the default

I agree with Wevsspot... try installing from USB stick... I use Kingston Data Travlers for mine and the instruction are all over the web for installing Windows via USB... if that doesnt work i'd say there is a possible issue with your board. whether it's a CMOS issue or memory or the board is bad
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#23 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 30 June 2012 - 07:47 PM

Ok, its telling me I need sata drivers, i tried the ones from portwell and the system rejected them. I cannot find ones from intel. Can anyone provide a link?

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#24 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 01 July 2012 - 07:21 AM

can you install windows on a regular hard drive on this board?

if not I;d say RMA the board
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**