Need new case compatible with H100

Case Choice  

6 members have voted

1. 1. Which of the following is the best choice for an x79 system + H100 cooler(taking cost into consideration)

• Dragon Rider $129.99 ($30 mir not included)
    • NZXT Phantom $129.99
    • CM Storm Trooper $149.99

I'm looking to upgrade from an Antec 900, I've made some modifications to this case to fit a H100, but not quite happy with how it turns out(I'm not really good with tools so it looks terrible), CPU temps were reaching 60 degrees at 4.6GHz, GPU 580 pushing 70 degrees at 900/1800/2300.

I'm looking for something cost effective to upgrade to that will ensure adequate air flow for my GPU and compatible with a H100 w/c.

I have a tight budget so the Storm Trooper is as high as I am willing to go, the prices are a little high because I'm in Canada and things cost more for no reason at all.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

I've reviewed the NZXT Phantom and the CM Storm Trooper...

The NZXT wasn't my favorite in dealing with cable routing and working in period but it is a decent looking case and very well built.

The CM Storm Trooper is still one of my favorite cases to have tested yet. It's sturdy, easy to work in, big in size and just neat looking. The fan controller is a little odd, but you don't have to use it...it's a nice case.

The H100 should fit in any of those you have listed. I didn't have the H100 when I reviewed either of the cases; that was back before I even got my 2600K. I was still running the Phenom X3 at the time...but temps still favored the well air routed CM Storm Trooper (review)

I'd recommend getting the Corsair Carbide 500R instead. It's meant for the H100.It has the same airflow option of the CM Storm Trooper since you're gonna lose the top 200mm anyway if you fit the H100. But since the 500R is smaler in size, it should technically yield better airflow inside. CMIIWcheers.gif