Vetting rig for starcraft 2 and diablo 3

justhuman

Hi all,

This is my first time building a gaming rig, mainly used for starcraft 2 and the upcoming, hopefully, diablo 3 at max setting. Basically the whole system is built around the 6970. Please let me know if it works or if any improvement can be made. Thanks for any feedback.

GPU: XFX Radeon HD 6970 HD-697A-CNFC Video Card with Eyefinity (possible future crossfire)

RAM: Patriot Signature 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory (*2 for 16G total)

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3GHz LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor

HD: Seagate Barracuda 500GB 3.5" SATA 6.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive (or 1TB? I do not need much space other than games)

PSU: Antec EarthWatts EA-650 GREEN 650W Power Supply (550W? not sure for 6970)

Mobo: ASUS P8Z68-V LX ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Tower: COOLER MASTER Elite 430 RC-430-KWN1 Black Steel / Plastic Computer Case (not sure if 6970 fits?)

Wireless: EDIMAX EW-7722In PCI Wireless Adapter (not sure if this is needed?)

Monitor: Acer S230HLAbii Black 23" 5ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor

Edited by justhuman

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It looks pretty good to me. I can play Starcraft 2 completely maxed out on my main rig (Pointman in my sig) and thats with a 5870. If I were you I would wait a bit and see how the 7950 is priced when it comes out in a week. It should be a good deal faster than a 6970 and features all the latest tech and a more efficient architecture, but not as expensive as the 7970. The Sandbridge-E i7-3820 is also coming out soon, and it should give you some really good performance for only ~$60 USD over an i5-2500K (although you will need a X79 motherboard), but the i5-2500k is still a killer CPU.

So much good stuff coming out soon! Don't forget nVidia's kepler 7xx series is coming out soon too!