Video Encoding Build

DLions8708

This is my first build and I built it to be able to encode football games better. My old computer only encoded at 15 fps, so it took about 6-7 Hours to do a game. I just did a game last night and it took an hour and 30 minutes. Here is what I have:

NZXT Guardian Black (Blue LED)

2x4GB Corsair Vengeance

Gigabyte Intel Z68 (GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3)

Nvidia Quadro FX 4000 (I bought from a buddy that had it laying around)

Intel I7-2600k

It works for me, but I'm still working to upgrade the DVD drive to a blu ray burner, and possibly a new graphics card.

Kyle

Nice. Z68 is great. Are you also using Virtu to help decrease the encoding time?

No, I've never heard of Virtu. I'll have to look it up. I'm just using Video Redo to cut commericals, then handbrake to encode to h264 720p mp4.

Kyle

It's a bit of a hassle. You have to set your BIOS up so you set only iGPU (plug your motherboard VGA into your monitor), boot into Windows and install the latest drivers for your HD3000 and install Lucidlogix VIRTU. After it's installed, you can set in your BIOS dGPU, and you'll have Virtu enabled alongside your graphics card. Then browse to your handbrake executable. That might even cut down your encoding time even more.

Virtu is great for helping with encoding. I use it when I am doing anything although using cuda and sli 560s is still fair quick.

Follow the good Captains instructions and you should experience a nice little speed up.

Virtu is great for helping with encoding. I use it when I am doing anything although using cuda and sli 560s is still fair quick.

Follow the good Captains instructions and you should experience a nice little speed up.

I installed it, but "handbrake" doesnt show up under the "applications" tab. Is that normal? Plus, I should have the DVI hooked into the motherboard, not the video card, right? Or does it not matter?

Kyle