Distorted Screen

scottay

G'day all. Hopefully someone can help shed some light on this frustrating issue. I'm a computer tech by trade and own/run a business doing just that. I recently had a client ask me to build him a computer, which I gladly did; however, this computer has been nothing but a PITA from the installation of Windows onward.

The issue I'm having now is the screen goes crazy. It distorts and gets "blocky" if that makes any sense. I've attached pics since that's the only real way to show what it's doing. If it just happened in Windows, I'd suspect drivers and either get new drivers or reinstall Windows... but as you'll see in the pics, it happens everywhere. The first on is in Windows, the second is while running MemTest86+, and I've also had it at the BIOS splash screen.

My first though, either GPU or RAM. Since it's got an embedded GPU I was hoping it's RAM. I've tried 3 separate sets of RAM in all possible configs to no avail. If it's GPU, I'm suspecting mobo.

In order to rule out anything else, I've disconnected the optical drives, popped in another PSU and tried different SATA cables on the HDD (I've had issues in the past with certain SATA cables).

Now, after all this trouble shooting, the original PSU that I bought for the machine isn't powering up the machine. I can't find my PSU tester ATM, but I'm really hoping that the PSU didn't fry... Although, if it fried it could have done something to the mobo.

Guess my question boils down to this: should I RMA the mobo? That's about the only thing left that I can think of that I haven't tested.

Couple other bits of info

-------------------------------

Windows will run in safe mode. I haven't had it happen in safe mode, but I also haven't spent much time in safe mode (maybe 5 min total).

Windows will boot normally and run fine for some random interval of time.

Nothing gets logged in event viewer.

System Specs

----------------