Best 5.1 Sound Card (with analog inputs preferably)

AR-fatality

hey guys! I haven't been on these forums for a while now. I need a bit of help regarding a new sound card. I'm prepared to spend around $200. i really want to get the Creative X-Fi Titanium HD or the ASUS Xonar Essence STX. However, I want analog 5.1 inputs, which neither have. Is there any alternative way to set up a 5.1 speaker setup such as the Logitech Z-5500 without using the analog jacks? I currently have a cheap 4.1 Creative M-4500 which i know won't really take advantage of such a high end sound card. I'm saving up for a Logitech Z-906/Z-5500. I am primarily a gamer. But I probably spend more time these days listening to music. I've been using a Creative Audigy Value for several years and it has served me pretty well other than the odd driver issues. Your help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you again :D

Well, if you get the Xonar Essence ST, the PCI variant, you could get the H6 daughter board for it that allows you to connect up to a 7.1 speaker system. However, it seems ASUS is no longer producing the H6 card, so I'd recommend a different sound card altogether. Perhaps the HT | Omega Claro Plus+, Auzentech X-Fi Forte or Auzentech X-Meridian 2G.

Well, if you get the Xonar Essence ST, the PCI variant, you could get the H6 daughter board for it that allows you to connect up to a 7.1 speaker system. However, it seems ASUS is no longer producing the H6 card, so I'd recommend a different sound card altogether. Perhaps the HT | Omega Claro Plus+, Auzentech X-Fi Forte or Auzentech X-Meridian 2G.

thanks

I beleave you mean to say analogue outputs not inputs

Also if you are getting the z5500 it has a optical input

Have you looked at the creative titanium x-fi fatality?

I would use the optical input over analogue if you experiencing noise from power wires at the back of a pc.