Dr_Frankenstein

Upgrade from Core2Quad Recommendations

Hi all

I have been running the system below for around 2 years or so and just upgraded the graphics card a couple of times, I am now a few generations behind and looking to do some catching up.

Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz

Gigabyte P35-S3

2x1gb OCZ Platinum

2x1gb OCZ Gold

GTX460 (This is staying)

I am on a budget and looking for to do the upgrade for £300 ($490ish) this includes the money made from selling my old parts.

I would like to overclock but also keep the system nice and quiet.

I have been doing some looking around and some initial picking out, but would like some comments or recommendations.

[CPU] Intel Core i5 2500k

[Cooler] Looking for recommendations

[Memory] Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 XMP Dual Channel

[Motherboard] Looking for recommendations

Thanks

Edited by Dr_Frankenstein

:withstupid:

Agree agree and agree.

However because IVY has gone and done a marvellous job saving money consider the Antec Kuhler 620 to cool the cpu. That mother board and cpu cooler is tight with the ram slots. As well as most cases, what case do you have op?

:withstupid:

Agree agree and agree.

However because IVY has gone and done a marvellous job saving money consider the Antec Kuhler 620 to cool the cpu. That mother board and cpu cooler is tight with the ram slots. As well as most cases, what case do you have op?

The 2500K doesn't need the best cooler to overclock very high, I still vote for the 212+ but thanks for the agreements lol

My friend has the G45 version of the board and the 212+ fit just fine on his

Edited by IVIYTH0S

The 2500K doesn't need the best cooler to overclock very high, I still vote for the 212+ but thanks for the agreements lol

My friend has the G45 version of the board and the 212+ fit just fine on his