VIDEO CARD DILEMA

Ok Team OCC....................

I've spent the last four days reading every review and comparison I can find pitting the HD 6950 against the GTX 560Ti - and all I can say is that I'm exhausted. I've been contemplating a video card upgrade for a few months now and really had my mind made up that I was going to sell my twin GTX 460 cards and put twin GTX 560s in their place.

Then the darned HD 6950 1Gb cards pop up at similar pricing to the GTX 560Ti cards, and now I'm having a booger of a time deciding which route to go. I'm really looking for those of you that went one way or another and reasons you chose the route you did. If you happen to be running the competing cards in Crossfire or SLi that would be even better.

Please skip over the standard nVidia has Physx and Cuda and stomps AMD in FAH ppd arguments. And AMD has metamorphing AA or whatever the hell that is. I'm really searching for opinions on gaming performance, pq, overclocking results, noise (a big factor for me) heat, etc.

All recommendations are welcomed and appreciated. And for any of you running the HD 6950 I'd like to know your opinions on the 1Gb versus 2Gb argument.

Regards,

Wev

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I got the 560 myself (only one), and I'm quite pleased with it. It has performed very well so far.

It runs at about 60 degrees, when gaming and in 3dmark. You can see which one I have in my sig.

The noise isn't bad, if you ask me. But I'm also used to having a 200mm fan running at almost max speed.

But as Black said. The 6950 can be flashed, so it performs pretty much like a 6970, which is, as far as I know, better than the gtx 560.

But I'm an Nvidia guy, so my vote is for the 650 of course :)

Hope my two cents helped a little bit.

Ps. I haven't started OC'ing it yet, so I can't give much detail on that.

You know about the 6950 unlock right? Problem solved! :thumbsup: