Which P67 board? ASUS Deluxe or Gigabyte UD5

hey guys,

title says it all, these are the two boards ive narrowed it down to, i wont be considering any other boards so if you could please tell me the main differences, your preference, and why. please keep in mind that im completely new to overclocking, just incase that makes a difference on which board is better for me. i plan to use it with an i5-2500k.

thanks! :)

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You don't need a top-end board with an i5-2500k. You'd get better performance spending $90 more with an i7-2600k and a $140 motherboard than a i5-2500k and a $230 motherboard. There's some decent boards out there in the $140 - $170 range.

You don't need a top-end board with an i5-2500k. You'd get better performance spending $90 more with an i7-2600k and a $140 motherboard than a i5-2500k and a $230 motherboard. There's some decent boards out there in the $140 - $170 range.

:withstupid: :withstupid:

:withstupid: :withstupid:

HAHAHAHAHAHAH! well for gaming the benefits of 2600k are rendered completely useless and i wont be doing any hardcore video editting or anything. ive got my mind set on these two boards so i just need some advice on which of the two

Then get the ASUS Deluxe. You get two more 6GB SATA ports that aren't Marvell (makes for better SATA III performance). Unless you want to run tri-SLI or tri-Fire, get the Gigabyte.

never gonna run tri anything....i might dual sli though later. the two extra 6GB SATA ports on the asus arent marvel? i didnt know that...hrrrmmmmm

i just read that Sata III and Sata II drives have virtually no difference in speed, so is there a point in the extra ports? is this actually true? will this change before i have to buy a new motherboard in the next 3-4 years?