New to OCC

combatzombie

Okay, I put together my own rig, and tried using the AMD overdrive utitlity which auto-tuned it to 3.8Ghz from 3.4Ghz on a 955 BE with a Xigmatek Red Scorpion S1283 H.D.T. CPU Cooler and artic silver 5 thermal paste, but

didn't run stable. I am new to overclocking, and decided it's best I do it in bios.

I don't want to change my RAM, just stuff on the mobo, and cpus

I have a AMD Phenom x4 965 BE processor with the above mentioned cpu cooler (which is idling at 41 degrees celcius, is this hot?)

and the motherboard I have is a Gigabyte Ultra Durable 3, Model: MA77OT-UD3P

I have an Antec 902 chassis and LOTS of fans.

I appreciate any and all help in assisting me to get this puppy running overclocked and stable, as well as advice/suggestions. If I left any details out of what I need to list, let me know

Welcome to OCC

41 at idle seems a little high, just make sure it doesnt go over 62 at full load, my 965 is at 45 degrees full load @3.8ghz so id say your a little warm, i wouldnt use the overdrive at all, do it in the bios, the 965 has an unlocked multi so that makes things easy, just bump the multipler up some and then add some volts, do it nice and slow a little bit at a time and stress test for a few hours checking the temps along the way, and when you get to where you want stress test for a much longer time, and if you run into instabilitys up the volts, unless its to hot, then lower the multi, and keep the volts down enough to get a safe temp, i try to keep mine under 55 degrees that way any changes in ambient air temps or dust build up wont hurt the chip.

Im sure some of the more experienced oc'ers around here will have more to say, good luck on your oc!

I just looked up the cooler that you have and it doesnt seem that beefy, so id say you wont get to 4.0 like a lot of these chips will.

Edited by camaro_dude15

Welcome to OCC :cheers: