My 1st real build, i need advice

John_Grimm

Hi guys and gals,

My 1st post here, greetings to all and prosperous new year.

I'm planing on building my 1st computer that actually has some horse power in it and looks nice to boot.

Unfortunately(hardware wise) i live in Bulgaria and computer components are not what i would call up to date and if they are expect a +30% markup on what ever you find in NewEgg. IDK if this is normal for Europe, as i have been a resident of Africa for the last decade and prices there where even more horrible. :(

But on to the build(i'm in the planing stage here, as i may spend $1'000 or $1'500 on the build, not sure yet.)

I use thees sites http://www.multirama.bg , http://www.mostbg.com/most/PriceList.aspx (no Tax here, so +20% and it's price2 column) and http://www.jarcomputers.com/l_en/?m=0 to look for the parts.

I have two build in mind both use the same case/PSU/CPU Cooler/GPU/HDD.

Case: CM HAF 912 Adv. + 2more CM 120mm EXCALIBUR 600/2000RPM PWM

PSU: 900W FORTRON

CPU cooler: Thermalright Silver Arrow 2x140(BIG, but effective) or the COOLERMASTER V6 GT(love how this Cooler looks)

GPU: Sapphire AMD HD6850 1 GB \a second to be installed later for more umf...

HDD: WD 1TB Black 64MB SATA III

1st Build:

CPU: Phenom II X6 1090T BE OR Phenom II X4 970 Quad Core BE

MoBo: Asus CROSSHAIR IV Formula

RAM: 4x 2GB DDR3 1600MHZ, Kingston HyperX

The above was too be my build, because i fell in love with the CROSSHAIR IV when i sou it in the local store, all i needed to decide was on the processor. But our local stores finally brought in the SandyBridge Processors. Namely i5 2500K for $295, but alas the best MoBo available here is the Gigabyte P67A-UD3.

2nd Build:

CPU: Core i5 2500K Quad Core (3.3GHz (Turbo Boost), 6MB L3, 850MHz GPU, LGA1155)

MoBo: Gigabyte P67A-UD3

RAM: 4x 2GB DDR3 1600MHZ, Kingston HyperX

I dislike the MoBo as Crosfire will make the e-PCI x16 work at x8 if am not mistaken.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.