First gaming build

the_lude

Hi Guys,

I am actually new to building a PC as I am more familiar with MACS.

Anyways, I am building a PC purely for gaming, mainly for starcraft 2.

I was giving some advice by my cousin for parts to use for the build and I would like some feedback.

CPU: AMD Phenom X4 965 BE (already purchased, as I was able to buy it for 129)

MOBO: MSI 890FXA

Graphics card: XFX 5870 HD

Memory: He had mentioned to get 2 x 2GB (4gb to run it in dual channel), but I was wondering if I can max it out for more memory

He has also purchased a Thermaltake FRIO for me to start off my building.

Any feedback would be appreciated. I would like the system to be able to run SC2 on it's highest settings or at least close to there without any real issues.

THANKS!

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Guys,

I am actually new to building a PC as I am more familiar with MACS.

Anyways, I am building a PC purely for gaming, mainly for starcraft 2.

I was giving some advice by my cousin for parts to use for the build and I would like some feedback.

CPU: AMD Phenom X4 965 BE (already purchased, as I was able to buy it for 129)

MOBO: MSI 890FXA

Graphics card: XFX 5870 HD

Memory: He had mentioned to get 2 x 2GB (4gb to run it in dual channel), but I was wondering if I can max it out for more memory

He has also purchased a Thermaltake FRIO for me to start off my building.

Any feedback would be appreciated. I would like the system to be able to run SC2 on it's highest settings or at least close to there without any real issues.

THANKS!

Notihing wrong with your parts selection. No need to get more than 4GB RAM if all this is for is gaming. Im running SC2 on my core2duo with a 5870 at pretty much max everything. I personally would go for a 6950 now as is cheaper than 5870 and a bit quicker.

Thoroughly recomend gettng a decent 24" 1920x1200 LCD. As an alternative mobo the Asus M4A89td Pro/USB3 is also very good.