New gaming rig plan

kingthechris

Hey, im new to all this but ive decided to go for my own build and was just wondering if all these components are compatible and if it will be a good build?

Specs are as follows:

Intel I7 950

Asus sabertooth motherboard

GTX 480 GPU

Corsair 6GB RAM

coolermaster HAF X full gaming tower

WD 1TB HDD

Samsung bluray drive

Samsung DVD drive

Corsair 850W TX PSU

Thats everything i think, little bit of flexibility in the budget over that too, so i was thinking possibly another 200mm fan for the HAF X case and maybe a CPU cooler. What are your thoughts for my first build?

Hey, im new to all this but ive decided to go for my own build and was just wondering if all these components are compatible and if it will be a good build?

Specs are as follows:

Intel I7 950

Asus sabertooth motherboard

GTX 480 GPU

Corsair 6GB RAM

coolermaster HAF X full gaming tower

WD 1TB HDD

Samsung bluray drive

Samsung DVD drive

Corsair 850W TX PSU

Thats everything i think, little bit of flexibility in the budget over that too, so i was thinking possibly another 200mm fan for the HAF X case and maybe a CPU cooler. What are your thoughts for my first build?

Its nice, almost same as the rig i've just bought and assembled except for the case which i got the 932 and a Radeon 5870.

otherwise... i'm not seeing anything wrong. it will work.

If you have a bit of cash to burn then perhaps a SSD. and the 1TB WD for storage of applications/games or multimedia.

SSD is still a bit pricey for my liking just now, how much do they cut loading times by? Also would the corsair H50 be sufficient for OC'ing the CPU?

SSD is still a bit pricey for my liking just now, how much do they cut loading times by? Also would the corsair H50 be sufficient for OC'ing the CPU?

Not sure on the SSD but I do know that the H50 is a very good cooler . If you put it in push/pull then you would really get good temps. I think 4ghz and above should be easy with push/pull