480SLI + i7 920 cooling

pointman

Hi everyone

Great forum.

I'm a rookie on watercooling but I did my reading on the net (as much as I could) and decided to go down this path. So far I'm watercooling the CPU (stock clocks) and 1 480GTX. Amazing results compared to air flow.

Idle GPU temp: 38C

Max GPU (furmark) 67C (2 hours running)

Idle CPU temp: 41C

Max CPU (PrimeTest) 60C (2 hours running - all 8 threads)

My question is this. I have already a 2nd GTX 480 that I plan to include in the loop. My Rad is an EK XT 240 (2 120 Fans).

Do you think that, even if running the CPU at stock clocks, will this Rad hold a 2nd GTX 480 at Max load? if not will the EK-360 (3 f120 Fans) be enough? I'm affraid I can't go for the EK-480 (3 120 Fans) as my case is a Mid Tower and I will go out of budget going for a new Full tower case

How much help would it be (drop temps even further) to use 75CFM fans vs quieter 60CFM fans, lets suppose that noise is not an issue.

Thanks in advance for all your help/opinions

Hi everyone

Great forum.

I'm a rookie on watercooling but I did my reading on the net (as much as I could) and decided to go down this path. So far I'm watercooling the CPU (stock clocks) and 1 480GTX. Amazing results compared to air flow.

My question is this. I have already a 2nd GTX 480 that I plan to include in the loop. My Rad is an EK XT 240 (2 120 Fans).

Do you think that, even if running the CPU at stock clocks, will this Rad hold a 2nd GTX 480 at Max load? if not will the EK-360 (3 f120 Fans) be enough? I'm affraid I can't go for the EK-480 (3 120 Fans) as my case is a Mid Tower and I will go out of budget going for a new Full tower case

How much help would it be (drop temps even further) to use 75CFM fans vs quieter 60CFM fans, lets suppose that noise is not an issue.

Thanks in advance for all your help/opinions

What's your PSU? You might be limited by that more than your cooling.