Sign in to follow this  
zackhaf

New to Folding

Hey, Im pretty new to this folding stuff, but it sounds like a good way to use my computer when Im not on it personally.

I just have a few basic questions on the basics.

Right now, i have the [email protected] program running, and it only shows about 25 to 30% CPU useage, no matter what. Is there a way to get it to use more of the CPU, and therefore go faster? Also, I have seen people using their GPUs to fold also, but Im not sure how to do that either, nor am i sure if it would even be worth it.

My system specs are:

AMD Phenom 9150e

4GB ddr2 RAM

XFX Radeon 5670

(Mobo is whatever comes with an HP a6700y, thats what this started as, only changed a few things so far)

and i dont think anything else matters.

Thanks for the help

I'm no folding expert and having problems myself at the moment but I think you need to use the - smp flag when folding on more than one CPU core but you'll need to do a little research to find out.

I've never folded on ATI graphics cards because nvidia based cards are far more productive but I'm sure your 5670 could make a valuable contribution and would definately be worth it because every little helps.

If you send me your folding name I can make you a config file for your CPU to hopefully run full speed

If you send me your folding name I can make you a config file for your CPU to hopefully run full speed

its the same as my occ name, zackhaf

its the same as my occ name, zackhaf

Here's a .rar file of 5 folders, 4 for each cpu core and a 5th for the GPU.

Just run each of the .exe's in each folder and you'll be ok! (though I'd only run 3 of the CPU one's when you're folding with your GPU)

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6F7NA13C

Let me know if you get it workin ok! :thumbsup:

Russian roulette...which .exe that IVI sent you is the VIRUS? mwhahaaaaa :evilgrin:

JK

Here's a .rar file of 5 folders, 4 for each cpu core and a 5th for the GPU.