i7 940 to i7 950 then to ?

Myocardium

So my i7 940 is currently wound to 3.06GHz so say like 10% over

I am running only 38 degrees idle and 49 at load, I have "liquid cooling' (not water) and 7 case fans 2 which are huge 240mm fans

How far would it be feasable to overclock this thing with out running it at high risk to melting my chips?

I did read some forums with people running over 4GHz on this thing...but I am new to overclocking and would rather not have to fix this thing later.

Again I am going for peak performance at a safe level but any and all advice would be appreciated.

I only play games like CoD, WoW, Diablo, Starcraft II, Settlers 7, Torchlight.. nothing to demanding but I like to run a lot of stuff at once like I am usually playing torchlight while waiting for a raid to start on WoW with Ventrilo, a few instant messengers and streaming music in the back ground. Not to mention the 25 add ons I use for WoW.

Thanky Thanky

Myocardium

PS i can not find any worth while information on the Asetek 570LX liquid cooling.. IDK if its good enough for extreme overclocking but I have the 240mil radiator pinched between 2x 140mm fans underneath it and a big 240mm fan on top so it gets a steady stream of air and my case is huge and open and set up like a wind tunnel with 3x140mm's and 1x240mm blowing in and 2x140mm's and 1x240mm blowing out through the radiator.

Edited by Myocardium

All an i7 950 will give you is a x23 multiplier. Overclocking at even-numbered multipliers aren't stable. For reference, I'm able to get up to 4.37 GHz with 23 x 190 with HT with temps maxing at 76C when running Prime95 for 2 hours. I could probably raise it higher, but I prefer lower temps than high overclocks. I have a 120.4 rad, but a 120.2 rad maxed at 80C, so it wasn't that big of a boost. Mainly did it since I'll be watercooling my SLI'd GTX 460's.