Minecraft

Flibo

I'm quite amazed that there's no thread for this awesome game!

For those who do not know it, Minecraft is a sandbox-ish survival game. It's only in alpha stage, so so far there is no other goal in the game apart from surviving, so only your creativity can make the game interesting! You can dig your own caves (uhm, mines!) and build your own house or castle, kill helpless animals and run from blood-thirsty zombies. You can craft your own weapons and armor from minerals you gather from your mine or from the outer world. There is no storyline, it is all random generated, which really adds to the game. You never know when you find something.

Check out how the game works:

You can actually make some quite complex structures in the game. If you've ever played Dwarf Fortress, then I think it's quite similar (I'm not very experienced with DF so I don't know). With a bit of creativity you can make traps and such with "stick and stone". As you probably noticed, the game isn't the most graphically advanced one. Well... That's just a precondition for a game to be awesome :lol:

The interesting thing about it still being in alpha is that you can easily interact with the developer via forums or Twitter and tell him your ideas. It might as well happen! The game will be exponentially more awesome in some time I'm sure. As of now the multiplayer is a bit buggy, but the multiplayer code will be completely rewritten from what I've heard.

As of now, it costs 9,95 euro (around 13 USD). When it goes beta, it will cost 19,95 euro.

I've played it for a few weeks and I'm liking it. At the moment I'm just playing single player, and I'm trying to convert a mountain into my castle :lol: I sound like a mad scientist! Do any of you guys play it? If so, tell your experiences, and if you play online, feel free to tell your server's IP!