1st build - input appreciated...

gmonroe2

Hi,

really appreciate the site. tons of useful info!

i'm no hardware expert and REALLY would appreciate critique/advice on this....just want to make sure i've got the ducks in a row before starting to buy all this stuff.

i'm a programmer and the co i worked for got bought and that didn't go so well. now i'm an independent contractor & i'm also a part time youth pastor, which means i will often have a couple of adobe products (video/photo editing, etc) open as well as vs2010 and sql mgt studio open along with 10-12 browser tabs, excel, outlook, music, etc...

i'm trying to build a really good desktop that will be fast enough for all that plus a little gaming (of course i want to overclock it...)

$$ is sort of an issue so i'm going to have to do the build over a little time...

motherboard: GA-X58A-UD3R - mobo

cpu: i7-930 - cpu

video card: asus geforce gt 240 1gb - video

memory: g.skill 6 gb 1600 - ram

hdd: seagate barracuda 1.5tb 7200 rpm - drive

psu: ocz modxstreampro 500w - psu

case: antec df-35 - case

questions:

1. any blaring compatibility problems?

2. is the psu too small? / ok brand?

3. anywhere here i could go cheap for now and upgrade later without having to jump through tons of hoops...

4. any input on what i should do different?

5. anything else...

i really appreciate any thoughts/help. thanks!

thanks for your help!

you should go AMD, bro

that intel platform is costing you a premium

you could do 1156 platform and save some if you really wanted to stick with intel

also with AMD you can get an onboard IGP until you can save up some for a better GPU, a 240 is a bad buy unless its almost free

(this one here is almost free but sale ends soon)

you might consider half your memory now, then double it later when you get funds