How do I do a RAID Configuration?

Alexpho

Hi There. Newbie here again. Currently, I have a recently built system with one 1TB Hard Drive, which has the Windows 7 installed and " some " of my programs and files. My Asus M4A87TD EVO I believe supports a RAID config.

I then went out and bought two new identical hard drive.

How do I manage a RAID config from what I have so far ? My original hard drive is a different vendor.

I can reinstall Win 7 but want to avoid if possible.

Thank you in advance.

Alex

Hi There. Newbie here again. Currently, I have a recently built system with one 1TB Hard Drive, which has the Windows 7 installed and " some " of my programs and files. My Asus M4A87TD EVO I believe supports a RAID config.

I then went out and bought two new identical hard drive.

How do I manage a RAID config from what I have so far ? My original hard drive is a different vendor.

I can reinstall Win 7 but want to avoid if possible.

Thank you in advance.

Alex

There are a few different ways to go about it do you want a software raid threw the OS (easy) or a hardware raid which requires additional hardware and depending the type of raid you will see significate performance increases over the software.

Your ASUS EVO absolutely supports RAID 0/1/5/10 - So now yo have to decide which RAID you want to run. Google each and you will learn what the differences are. But, in a nutshell RAID 0 / RAID 1 are the 2 most popular. RAID 0 is for speed/performance, and RAID 1 is for data protection....here is how it works:

RAID 0 Example- 2 identical 500GB drives are going to show up as 1 1TB drive on your computer. The read/write access times on the RAID 0 array will be higher than either drive by itself, which translates to faster file transfer times.

RAID 1 Example - 2 identical 500GB drives are going to show up as 1 500GB drive, with one drive just doing a routine copy of the other, to ensure that if one drive fails, then all of your data is still backed up.