Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Overclocking my rig


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#49 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 10 August 2010 - 03:24 PM

C0 and E0 are the revision levels of that processor model. The E0 is the later of the two revisions.

If you're not sure about the revision level you can check the stepping code on the original processor box, you can check the stepping code on the cpu IHS heatsink, or easiest yet....... use CPUz to determine all the cool info on your processor.

You can download CPUID/CPUz here;
http://www.cpuid.com...ares/cpu-z.html

Here's what mine looks like;
Posted Image
By wevsspot at 2010-08-10

Mine is a D0 revision i7 920 :)
31765372778_b7d6ff5f2a_o.jpg

 


#50 Pec0

Pec0

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 August 2010 - 08:54 AM

Yeah I got E0. I'll start my over -clocking now, ignoring the MB temps. Thanks so much for replying guy. Appreciate it.
Antec 300 & Antec 750w Truepower new
Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP @n
Intel core 2 duo E8500 (3.16ghz) socket 775 wolfdale
Corsair 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10666 XMS3 DHX Memory Kit
Sapphire Radeon 7850 HD 2GB
500Gb Sata II h/d. 250Gb ide h/d, 1Tb WD notebook h/d
Samsung Syncmaster 940BW
Microsoft Sidewinder X8 Mouse & X6 Keyboard
Windows 7 Home x64

#51 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 11 August 2010 - 09:28 AM

Good news that you've got an E0 revision. Possibly better overclocking headroom at lower voltages.
31765372778_b7d6ff5f2a_o.jpg

 


#52 Pec0

Pec0

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 August 2010 - 12:29 PM

If someone............ *whistles*, was to put a new CPU Heat-sink on the wrong way round and took it off to turn it round.......... would this separating the CPU from the heat sink diminish the efficiency of the thermal cooling paste and should it be removed and reapplied?
Antec 300 & Antec 750w Truepower new
Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP @n
Intel core 2 duo E8500 (3.16ghz) socket 775 wolfdale
Corsair 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10666 XMS3 DHX Memory Kit
Sapphire Radeon 7850 HD 2GB
500Gb Sata II h/d. 250Gb ide h/d, 1Tb WD notebook h/d
Samsung Syncmaster 940BW
Microsoft Sidewinder X8 Mouse & X6 Keyboard
Windows 7 Home x64

#53 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 11 August 2010 - 07:36 PM

would this separating the CPU from the heat sink diminish the efficiency of the thermal cooling paste and should it be removed and reapplied?

Absolutely!
Anytime you remove the heatsink you should always re-clean both surfaces (cpu ihs and heatsink base). Use 90% or higher pure rubbing alcohol or lighter fluid. Wipe with a soft lint free cloth (I use old socks :))
31765372778_b7d6ff5f2a_o.jpg

 


#54 Pec0

Pec0

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:57 AM

Absolutely!
Anytime you remove the heatsink you should always re-clean both surfaces (cpu ihs and heatsink base). Use 90% or higher pure rubbing alcohol or lighter fluid. Wipe with a soft lint free cloth (I use old socks :))


., that will be why my temps are up a bit. :withstupid: Can we change that to I am stupid..
Antec 300 & Antec 750w Truepower new
Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP @n
Intel core 2 duo E8500 (3.16ghz) socket 775 wolfdale
Corsair 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10666 XMS3 DHX Memory Kit
Sapphire Radeon 7850 HD 2GB
500Gb Sata II h/d. 250Gb ide h/d, 1Tb WD notebook h/d
Samsung Syncmaster 940BW
Microsoft Sidewinder X8 Mouse & X6 Keyboard
Windows 7 Home x64

#55 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 13 August 2010 - 01:02 PM

I wouldn't go that far :)

There's always a temptation to take shortcuts, especially when dealing with that greasy paste mess. But a thorough cleaning and re-application of the thermal paste is the only correct method.
31765372778_b7d6ff5f2a_o.jpg

 


#56 Pec0

Pec0

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 August 2010 - 05:07 AM

Just ordered some TIM cleaner and Thermal paste from Ebuyer. I think I'll do my North and South Bridges when it arrives next week. Anyone got any recommendations or info I should know on how to clean them?

Edited by Pec0, 14 August 2010 - 06:41 AM.

Antec 300 & Antec 750w Truepower new
Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP @n
Intel core 2 duo E8500 (3.16ghz) socket 775 wolfdale
Corsair 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10666 XMS3 DHX Memory Kit
Sapphire Radeon 7850 HD 2GB
500Gb Sata II h/d. 250Gb ide h/d, 1Tb WD notebook h/d
Samsung Syncmaster 940BW
Microsoft Sidewinder X8 Mouse & X6 Keyboard
Windows 7 Home x64

#57 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 14 August 2010 - 07:29 PM

I use a paper towel for the first couple of passes. After that I switch over to an old cotton sock for the final pass or two.

Nothing hard about it at all. But for future reference you don't need to spend a ton of dough on special cleaners. Rubbing alcohol or lighter fluid both work great.
31765372778_b7d6ff5f2a_o.jpg

 


#58 Thorax the Impailer

Thorax the Impailer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand

Posted 20 August 2010 - 05:17 AM

Just make sure you don't get the cleaning fluid or paste on the underside of the CPU or it will create problems. Also you shouldn't need any more than a pinhead size amount of paste on the center of the CPU,
it should only be enough to elimenate microscopic air pockets as most of the Heatsink serfaces are not 100% smooth and therefore get air trapped in the microscopic ridges created by the machining prosses
of the heatsinks contact surface. Air pockets are bad for heat dissapation between CPU and the heatsink.

Hope this helps :)

#59 Pec0

Pec0

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 May 2012 - 09:55 AM

I hope it's ok to revive an old thread.

I've tried upping my FSB Frequency by 15. However as soon as I do so and run a stress test with OCCT, the tests stops 3 minutes in as it's hit the 80oC limit. I've been reading through this old threat and some posters are suggesting it should be getting temps of below 50oC under load and I should be able to squeeze 5Ghz out my processor. I have:

  • Intel Dual Core E8500 Wolfdale
  • Arctic cooling freezer 7 pro

Can anyone tell me if I should be able achieve those temperatures?
Should I really be able to squeeze 5Ghz out my CPU and
Can anyone given me any idea why my CPU is running so hot so quickly?
Antec 300 & Antec 750w Truepower new
Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP @n
Intel core 2 duo E8500 (3.16ghz) socket 775 wolfdale
Corsair 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10666 XMS3 DHX Memory Kit
Sapphire Radeon 7850 HD 2GB
500Gb Sata II h/d. 250Gb ide h/d, 1Tb WD notebook h/d
Samsung Syncmaster 940BW
Microsoft Sidewinder X8 Mouse & X6 Keyboard
Windows 7 Home x64