• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 c0ld

c0ld

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 20 January 2004 - 09:34 PM

This is a big time newb question, but I'm a big time newb here in the hard drive department. I know (or think I do) that the thick cable used for plugging things in is an IDE cable.. What's that stand for? What's the difference between SATA and PATA and what does ATA stand for? How does RAID setpus work and how many types are there? TIA for putting up with my utter nubness. <_<
5^.5*.5+.5

#2 Paranoid

Paranoid

Figure in Black

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2804 posts

Posted 20 January 2004 - 09:41 PM

Integrated Drive Electronics (IDE) (taken from http://www.smartcomputing.com )
A standard used since the mid-1980s for connecting hard drives, CD-ROM drives, and tape drives to computers. IDE and its updated successor, Enhanced IDE (EIDE), are based on the original IBM PC ISA (Industry Standard Architecture) 16-bit bus standard. Up to two IDE devices can attach to a single IDE ribbon cable. Many motherboards include built-in support for IDE devices, while others require a separate IDE adapter plugged into an expansion slot. IDE adapters, whether built-in or separate, are relatively simple and inexpensive, because IDE devices carry their own controller circuitry. IDE is also known as ATA (Advanced Technology Attachment), while EIDE is sometimes called Fast ATA. IDE differs from the SCSI (Small Computer Systems Interface) standard that is most often on Macintosh computers. SCSI is usually thought of as faster than IDE but more expensive and complicated to use.

ATA/PATA is the same as IDE

PATA has a maximum bandwidth of 133Mb/s
SATA has a maximum bandwidth of 150Mb/s

RAID - Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks
There are too many to expain all of them, but the three main ones are
RAID 0 (striping), RAID 1 (mirroring), and RAID 0+1 (mirrored striping)