SpeedCrazy

My First Time Build

Hi

This is my first time building a computer so i will probably have lots of crazy questions, please humor me and answer them to the best of your ability.

Okay i am wanting to build a reasonably fast computer for visual media creation and editing plus normal work, word excel and the occasional games.

How does this sound:

Antec P193 case

Antec CP 850w

Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5

I7 920

G.Skill 4GB DDr3 1600

CM Hyper 212 Plus RR-BIO-212P-G1

Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB 7200rpm

MSI ATI Radeon HD4670 1 GB DDR3

Please suggest any changes, but try and keep them in the same price range.I have LIMITED budget.

Thanks in advance. :thx:

I may be wrong but I was under the impression that this motherboard could run DDR2 and DDR3.

I will check.

I may be wrong but I was under the impression that this motherboard could run DDR2 and DDR3.

I will check.

I believe you meant dual channel and triple channel not DDR2 and DDR3 because I can assure you no X58 mobo runs DDR2.

All X58 boards will work with two sticks of RAM, just everyone goes with three to take advantage of the new triple channel memory. Dual channel works perfectly fine but hardly anyone does it.. nothing wrong with it if money is tight but to get the max performance, triple channel is preferred.

I think the build is solid. If you can afford it, I'd go for the HD 5670 instead of the 4670 for the added boost.

Thanks

I intend to start with this set of 4 GB ram and then as i can afford it add another set and again. So i want to end up with 12GB.

What does DDR3 or DDR2 mean?

Also can the HD5670 run in crossfire?

Before you answer that question am i correct that to run i crossfire means to run mulitple Graphics cards at once, improving quality? If this is incorrect disregard this question.