Nvidia Video Card on an ATI chpiset MOBO

jdiego82

Hey, guys. I'm fairly new to the OCClub community and to a lot of the jargon you guys use here, so I'd appreciate it if you could answer in a way that an amateur 16-year old PC gaming enthusiast would understand.

So, I have a Palit GeForce GTS 250 1GB GDDR3 Green Edition video card hooked up to my K9A Platinum AM2 RD580 Crossfire-ready (which has an ATI chipset) MOBO with an AMD Athlon X2 5000+ 2.6 Ghz processor with Windows 7 64-bit installed. I have a 1280x1024 LCD monitor hooked up to my rig.

The problem is that I have inconsistent in-game framerates depending on the game. For example, DMC4 runs on an average of 80 FPS with x16CQAA and with all the settings maxed (except for V-sync). The Supreme Commander games (1, FA, and 2) never drop below 50 fps with all settings maxed and x16CQAA on, too. But games like Crysis Warhead, Just Cause 2, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 and Metro 2033 struggle to get above 30-40 fps on more modest settings (in 1280x1024 res). I know from benchmarks and youtube videos that my system should be more than enough to handle those games in their highest settings without lag.

I can see plants popping up in Crysis (1072x768 resolution, 0xAA, Gamer settings) while it gives me an average of 35 fps. I had to set JC2 to the lowest settings possible to be able to play in the city environment (29 fps average). The framerates in BF:BC2 and Metro 2033 can go as high as 80 fps to as low as 10fps depending on where I look on-screen.