Sign in to follow this  
bhvm

Am I doing this right? (about data security)

Hello all,

Sorry if it has been discussed before.. I used search but could'nt find exactly what i wanted.

I work as an accountant and deal with sensitive files all day.

My natural choice is to encrypt them.

So i use 7 Zip to create an encrypted archive with AES 256.

Some of the articles i read made me give this a second thought.....

1>How secure is 7 Zip encryption anyways? Are there any Backdoors etc for some hacker/Security agency to exploit?

2>Most of such softwares use a sort of TEMP folder for working....(7Zip uses too) Which means plain text copies of my work can be found here.

3>The data could also be found in pagefile, Prefetch, LOG or some other forms of virtual memory that is outside mine or Encryption program's authority.

What could be the solution?.

4>7 Zip creates a .TMP file in the current folder, then deletes it on completion of task. Can this .TMP be recovered and Files discovered?

5> Where Should i wipe other 'traces' of my data...locations which i don';t know about...?///

My data mostly consists of TXT, DOC, PDF, JPG etc...

I think the best way is to make sure you clear any and all temp areas you know of. and for added security I would say check with 7zip if they have forums and see what all temp files they make and if they are deleted on completion of the file. also you should password protect the zip files and make it a really hard password with numbers and caps in it as well. there are many things that you can do to protect data you just have to be careful with it.

I think a more secure option for you would be to use an Encryption program like PGP or Truecrypt. Truecrypt is open source software and the best there is without paying a lot of money.