First Time OCer... 3.79GHz!!! Tips??

Gopher Love

K so guy.. I'm new to OCing... This is the THIRD OC forum I have posted on looking for some advice... noone is replying back on the other two... kinda annoying. Hope you guys can help me out.

So heres my specs real quick...

Thermaltake Xaser VI case with 4 140mm fans and 2 120mm fans

MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3 DDR3 MB

AMD Phenom II 955 AM3 C2 stock @ 3.2GHz

Zalman CNPS9900 NT cooler (120mm fan all copper)

Sapphire Radeon HD 4770 GPU

Crucial Ballistix DDR3 1333MHz mem (2 X 1GB)

Antec Earthwatts 750 Watt PSU

I'm still working on tweaking it but I seem to have hit the point were I get BSOD after EVERYTHING...

Base Clock - 205MHz

Multiplier - 18.5 X

Core Voltage - 1.3750 V

Core Speed - 3792.5MHz

Idle temps around 32C

Load temps around 46-47C

Ambient temp in case around 23-25C

Ambient temp in room around 22C

I have had the voltage set to 1.4 and tried going up but that didn't work either..

Anyone wanna help me make her scream just a LiTTLe MoRE??

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

hey, Welcome to OCC!!

nice rig!

Phenom II's have a max voltage of 1.55v according to AMD, so you can push her up to that, she may need more than 1.4v to go 3.8+ghz..

alternatively, this has helped me in the past with stability, but you could also try raising the CPU-NB speed. default for AM3 systems is 2000mhz, you might want to up the multi on that to 22oomhz or 2400mhz, but also keep in mind you'd likely have to up the cpu-nb voltage too...

hope this helps.

you may also want to check out Dolk's Guide on Techreaction. it's a good read and should be even more helpful. :)

Yup I got her up to 3895 now (19x 205 bus) with 1.4375V... I just didn't wanna go up that high cuz like I said this is my first time doing this and I have been OBSESIVELY watching my core temps... I'm at 34-35 idle right now and 47-48 load...