Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How reasonable/doable is this for a Watercooled Setup


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 pezcore

pezcore

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 November 2009 - 04:56 PM

Ok, so I was thinking of watercooling, but space is tight in my case. I want to keep the inside looking much like it already does, with the white LED fans INSIDE the case, and the radiators OUTSIDE it.

I made this diagram to show what I had in mind. Is daisy chaining two small radiators a good idea?

Feel free to make changes or suggest ideas. I've never done WC before, so if I put things in the wrong order let me know :)



Posted Image

*edit - I may even get one of those reservoirs that have the pumps built in. Either way, the res has to go in the drive bays.

Edited by pezcore, 19 November 2009 - 04:57 PM.

CUSTOM ANTEC P183|INTEL i5 2500k|GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD3P|EVGA GTX 970|CORSAIR 16GB DDR3|CORSAIR HX750w|ANTEC Kühler 620|LG 65" 4K TV|LG BD-ROM|SAMSUNG EVO 840 SSD|SCYTHE KAZE SERVER


#2 Puck

Puck

    Lord, what fools these mortals be!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:08 PM

Ok, so I was thinking of watercooling, but space is tight in my case. I want to keep the inside looking much like it already does, with the white LED fans INSIDE the case, and the radiators OUTSIDE it.

I made this diagram to show what I had in mind. Is daisy chaining two small radiators a good idea?

Feel free to make changes or suggest ideas. I've never done WC before, so if I put things in the wrong order let me know :)



Posted Image

*edit - I may even get one of those reservoirs that have the pumps built in. Either way, the res has to go in the drive bays.

The order is wrong but the layout is sound - I am waiting on one more rad with a similar setup, but overkill with 2x 3x120 rads. No GPUs in the loop as well, just the CPU.

The res should be the last thing in the loop, not the first. It will need a strong pump, but I would run it from pump-CPU-first rad-GPU-second rad-res then back to pump. That way you are not directly cooling the GPU with the hot CPU water.

FWIW, with one 3x120 rad and the deltas the water entering the res is .5-1c over ambient during idle(verified with dual temp probes), but ~6c higher after extended load...with a second 3x120 I want the load water to be within 2c or so at load and for the water to always be ambient at idle.

Note that these are COOLANT temps, not chip temps. Basically I want to always have the nice low startup temps, and not have them rise so much after extended use as the coolant heats up.

-i7 4790k @ 4.9ghz 24/7 - Asus Sabertooth Z97 MK1 - 2X4GB Patriot Viper Extreme - RX580 8GB - 28" Samsung 4K - Dual PSU CM SilentPro M 1Kw Main/OCZ Z-Series Z850w Slave - Custom MM Extended Ascension - Logitech G502/G710+/Homemade Stainless mousepad -

CPU Cooled by: 2x MCP655 pumps, Archimedes TEC Waterblock w/TN669 TEC, Dew Point controller, 2x Black Ice GTX Gen2 480 Quads, 33x 80cfm 120mm Server fans, DD dual bay res w/XSPC Res plug Temp probe

GPUs Cooled by: Modded MCP655, 2xModded Enzotech Sapphire CPU Waterblocks, Zalman RAMsinks, modded stock plate VRM cooling, Phobya res, Aquacomputer AMS 280 Rad

Wow, puck just kinda summed that one up for most of us lol. I agree with puck. :)

Man Puck... I couldn't have said it better myself!

Current Rides: 93 Medium Patriot Red NA 383 Z28 - 2012 Metallic Spark Black Nitrous ZX14R - 09 Victory Red Z51 6sp LS3 Corvette


#3 DLS2008

DLS2008

    Wait, what goes here?

  • Folding Member
  • 1047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warren, MI

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:30 PM

Why use a reservoir at all? Why not just use a t-line setup and put a fill-port in the top of the case. Then just check your t-line weekly and add a little coolant if needed.

And as Puck mentioned, the order should go from rad 1 -> pump -> CPU -> rad 2 -> GPU -> rad 1. That way the water is always cooled before it enters a heat source and needs to draw heat away. Honestly, I might just suggest one 360mm rad mounted on the back of your case with it's own fans and one of these.

Thermaltake Armor+ w/ 4 Scythe S-FLEX SFF21E fans/Gigabyte GA-X48T-DQ6 motherboard/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8) 1.280V (CPU-z)/PC P&C Silencer 750W
HP w2408h 24" Widescreen 1920 x 1200/Zalman CNPS9700 HSF/2 x ATI Radeon HD 4870 @ 750 MHz Core/900 MHz Memory/Vista Ultimate 32-bit/4 x 500 GB WD Caviar in RAID 10
Sound Blaster Audigy X-Fi ExtremeGamer/4 GB (2x2GB) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1080 5-5-5-18/2 x 320 GB WD Caviar in RAID 1
http://overclockersc...me=DLS2008&.jpg


#4 pezcore

pezcore

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:31 PM

@Puck: I see what you're saying, but my case only has 2 holes for tubes to pass through. I suppose I could figure something out with some Y adaptors (or whatever is used) to make that work, but I want it to look clean.

Hmm...

Edited by pezcore, 19 November 2009 - 05:31 PM.

CUSTOM ANTEC P183|INTEL i5 2500k|GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD3P|EVGA GTX 970|CORSAIR 16GB DDR3|CORSAIR HX750w|ANTEC Kühler 620|LG 65" 4K TV|LG BD-ROM|SAMSUNG EVO 840 SSD|SCYTHE KAZE SERVER


#5 RJR

RJR

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 436 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lafayette, IN

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:33 PM

Pez, if your cooling whats in your signature, 2 singles will never be enough for your quad and 295.

i7 2600K, ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, 16GB DDR-1600, Vertex 3 240, GTX 460 SLI, HWLabs GTX360, HeatKiller 3.0
i7 860, Gigabyte P55-UD4P, 8 GB's G.Skill DDR3-1600, Patriot Torqx 128 GB, EVGA GTX460's
i3 540 , ECS P55H-AK, CM Hyper 212+, 4 GB's HyperX 1600, EVGA GTS450, Corsair 650W, 150 Velociraptor, 640 7200.11
E1500, MSI G31, 4 GB's DDR2-1066 HyperX, EVGA GTX460 1GB, WD 750 GB, Seasonic 525W
Sager NP5165, i7 2630QM, OCZ Vertex 240, GT555M, 1920 X 1080 matte


Posted Image


#6 Puck

Puck

    Lord, what fools these mortals be!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:55 PM

@Puck: I see what you're saying, but my case only has 2 holes for tubes to pass through. I suppose I could figure something out with some Y adaptors (or whatever is used) to make that work, but I want it to look clean.

Hmm...

Lol cut some!!! If I showed what I had to do to my case to get my watercooling to fit most people would flip :lol:.

I am posting from my blackberry and did not notice your sig though...with a quad and a hot GPU two singles will run hotter then high end air cooling!

I am a big fan of using rads since they increase the cooling capacity considerably...the load temps will be the same eventually, but it will take a LOT longer to get there. I use a dual 5 1/4 drive bay res from DD.

-i7 4790k @ 4.9ghz 24/7 - Asus Sabertooth Z97 MK1 - 2X4GB Patriot Viper Extreme - RX580 8GB - 28" Samsung 4K - Dual PSU CM SilentPro M 1Kw Main/OCZ Z-Series Z850w Slave - Custom MM Extended Ascension - Logitech G502/G710+/Homemade Stainless mousepad -

CPU Cooled by: 2x MCP655 pumps, Archimedes TEC Waterblock w/TN669 TEC, Dew Point controller, 2x Black Ice GTX Gen2 480 Quads, 33x 80cfm 120mm Server fans, DD dual bay res w/XSPC Res plug Temp probe

GPUs Cooled by: Modded MCP655, 2xModded Enzotech Sapphire CPU Waterblocks, Zalman RAMsinks, modded stock plate VRM cooling, Phobya res, Aquacomputer AMS 280 Rad

Wow, puck just kinda summed that one up for most of us lol. I agree with puck. :)

Man Puck... I couldn't have said it better myself!

Current Rides: 93 Medium Patriot Red NA 383 Z28 - 2012 Metallic Spark Black Nitrous ZX14R - 09 Victory Red Z51 6sp LS3 Corvette


#7 Boinker

Boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 19 November 2009 - 06:57 PM

if it was me I would run a dual loop system... I.E. two independent set-ups.

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not fix it I hop in a Timber Wolf and Blast it to microscopic Particles.

gallery_64925_577_90061.png


#8 MasterRex862

MasterRex862

    I love OCC <3

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, FL

Posted 19 November 2009 - 07:09 PM

I have a separate thread for my own setup in progress, but what are the advantages to running independent loops vs one single loop? Perhaps I'm missing something, but if the heat transfer capacity of each individual loop (assuming you aim for a multiple loop setup) is great enough to adequately cool the water-blocks independently, why would the radiators suddenly be less efficient? The only difference I'm aware of is the additional strain on a single pump, though adding an additional pump to a single loop setup isn't an unorthodox tax.

I don't like mushrooms, so I only ate the snails.

Posted Image

Core 2 Duo e6750 @ 3GHz :: MSI P6N SLI (650i) :: 4 x 1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 :: 8800GTS G92 :: Acer Ferrari F-20 20" [P-MVA] :: Ultra Aluminus Case
Bose 201 Series IV :: harman/kardon AVR 45 :: Cerwin-Vega HT-PWR12



#9 Puck

Puck

    Lord, what fools these mortals be!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 November 2009 - 08:13 PM

I have a separate thread for my own setup in progress, but what are the advantages to running independent loops vs one single loop? Perhaps I'm missing something, but if the heat transfer capacity of each individual loop (assuming you aim for a multiple loop setup) is great enough to adequately cool the water-blocks independently, why would the radiators suddenly be less efficient? The only difference I'm aware of is the additional strain on a single pump, though adding an additional pump to a single loop setup isn't an unorthodox tax.

The radiators are just as efficient, they just have more heat to deal with. The same reason why you may be able to run a TRUE passive on a stock clocked low end dual core, but not a quad core of the same speed. The TRUE is not getting any less efficient, it just cannot deal with the extra heat. It can cool each set of two cores independently, just not at the same time :). Also, like you said many DC pumps are not up to the task of multiple rads and blocks and will lose a ton of flow, causing even worse performance.

The coolant itself starts to heat up, and the more heat sources you add to the same loop, naturally, the more the coolant will heat up. This will make you end up with nice cool startup and initial idle temps, but then after continued use the load temps will be high and will take a long time to drop once the coolant is saturated with heat.

-i7 4790k @ 4.9ghz 24/7 - Asus Sabertooth Z97 MK1 - 2X4GB Patriot Viper Extreme - RX580 8GB - 28" Samsung 4K - Dual PSU CM SilentPro M 1Kw Main/OCZ Z-Series Z850w Slave - Custom MM Extended Ascension - Logitech G502/G710+/Homemade Stainless mousepad -

CPU Cooled by: 2x MCP655 pumps, Archimedes TEC Waterblock w/TN669 TEC, Dew Point controller, 2x Black Ice GTX Gen2 480 Quads, 33x 80cfm 120mm Server fans, DD dual bay res w/XSPC Res plug Temp probe

GPUs Cooled by: Modded MCP655, 2xModded Enzotech Sapphire CPU Waterblocks, Zalman RAMsinks, modded stock plate VRM cooling, Phobya res, Aquacomputer AMS 280 Rad

Wow, puck just kinda summed that one up for most of us lol. I agree with puck. :)

Man Puck... I couldn't have said it better myself!

Current Rides: 93 Medium Patriot Red NA 383 Z28 - 2012 Metallic Spark Black Nitrous ZX14R - 09 Victory Red Z51 6sp LS3 Corvette


#10 pezcore

pezcore

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 November 2009 - 09:06 PM

I think I will stick with air cooling then :P

CUSTOM ANTEC P183|INTEL i5 2500k|GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD3P|EVGA GTX 970|CORSAIR 16GB DDR3|CORSAIR HX750w|ANTEC Kühler 620|LG 65" 4K TV|LG BD-ROM|SAMSUNG EVO 840 SSD|SCYTHE KAZE SERVER


#11 pezcore

pezcore

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 November 2009 - 01:36 PM

New question (maybe I should make a new thread?)

Since I'm sticking with air cooling, would it be worth upgrading my Lion Square if I'm already idling in the low 40's at 4GHz?

CUSTOM ANTEC P183|INTEL i5 2500k|GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD3P|EVGA GTX 970|CORSAIR 16GB DDR3|CORSAIR HX750w|ANTEC Kühler 620|LG 65" 4K TV|LG BD-ROM|SAMSUNG EVO 840 SSD|SCYTHE KAZE SERVER


#12 rourkchris

rourkchris

    not wearing pants

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santa Rosa, California

Posted 20 November 2009 - 01:47 PM

New question (maybe I should make a new thread?)

Since I'm sticking with air cooling, would it be worth upgrading my Lion Square if I'm already idling in the low 40's at 4GHz?

Looks like it's doing it's job just fine. I wouldn't upgrade the cooler with that kind of performance unless you are wanting something that will carry over to another build like an i5 or an i7. Even then I'd just wait until the new build to upgrade.
i7 970 6 core 32nm Gulftown OCd to 4Ghz
Prolimatech Megahalems w/2 Scythe fans
Asus Rampage II GENE X58
12 GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 6-7-6-18-60-1T
EVGA GTX 580
PC P&C 750 watt
Vista Premium 64-bit
Hanns-G 28" 1920x1200

Posted Image